RC Qualifier

Aluminum vs Plastic weight information

As a Design Engineer, I design my machines in Inventor, a 3-D Parametric package. I was drawing some components for my Rustler and when I assigned the material to them I noticed something, for a 1/4" x 2" x 2" piece: Just thought I would pass this in case there are people are thinking that aluminum is lighter than plastic. Aluminum is stronger per pound.

Aluminum = .098 lbs.
    UHMW (Plastic) = .034 lbs.
    Delrin (Plastic) = .051 lbs.

So, a 2 pound strip of aluminum is tougher than a 2 pound strip of plastic? So you could have a 1 pound peice of aluminum be lighter, but comparable to strenght to a 2 pound peice of plastic?
    Get it? Got it? Good.
    Nitro Is Hazardous To Your Health.
    4x4 Jeep-Pede:
    http://monster.traxxas.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=165913

RC Qualifier
    Originally posted by BeeniDAmeeni
    So, a 2 pound strip of aluminum is tougher than a 2 pound strip of plastic? So you could have a 1 pound peice of aluminum be lighter, but comparable to strenght to a 2 pound peice of plastic?
    Yes Aluminum is stronger than Plastic.

Aluminum is not lighter than plastic. Depending on what you choose you will sacrifice something.

Example: Shocks... Aluminum are stronger but are heavier so if you are going for strength over weight go with Aluminum. But if Weight is more of a concert than strength go with stock plastic shocks.

The weight difference between the shocks is not as big of a concern that a bumper would be. But used the shocks as a example because of the strength to weight ratio.

RC Qualifier
    Thats some good info. I already new that alum was heavier, but i didn't know the exactly numbers. Hopefully this will clear the air with people thinking aluminum is the platinum of the R/C world. Personally, for the weight gains, i would rather use plastic and replace it. And if you are a good driver... why would you be needing that extra strength