RC poster

Question Plasti-Dip for Receivers / Optidrive

I have tried searching on this and found nothing so I will open it up to the masses.

Can you plastidip the receiver and optidrive? In most cases I see that people choose to balloon these items or dip the entire receiver box (Wisconson Nitro RC - Waterproofing ). Unfortunately on the Revo this is not an easy task due to the size of the Receiver box.

Why can't you do something like this but with Plasti-Dip?:
    How to waterproof a RX

And for the optidrive just use CLEAR plastidip?

I am relatively new to Nitro RC and waterproofing so any thoughts are appreciated.

Matthew

Banned by Warnings
    don't

get ballons what ever color your choice, then u stick the optidrive in there pull out all the wires through the opening and place a zip tie SUPER tight around the end trim the extra balloon off the end

no water will get in I use the same method and I already drove my revo in the rain and snow

RC poster
    Originally posted by N350Z
    don't

get ballons what ever color your choice, then u stick the optidrive in there pull out all the wires through the opening and place a zip tie SUPER tight around the end trim the extra balloon off the end
    I understand that many balloon the optidrive. Perhaps you can help me understand why you don't recommend it and some discussion can occur about that.

Matthew
    Last edited by mdknapp; 01-18-2005 at 07:30 PM.

i run with plasit dip on my revo. On the steering servos, reverse servo, and the throttle servo. I left everything else out, like the reciever and my failsafe. I have not encountered a problem yet.
    But yes, i know a friend who dipped his reciever in there, but im not sure about your optidrive.

Banned by Warnings