RC Racer

I broke something...can't tell what it is

Hi Guys,

Since I am still new to the hobbie, I am in constant learning mode. So here is the situation. The engine fires up no problem and it revs fine...but here is the kicker, it doesn't really move!! It was working fine and then I refueled and now its not moving!! The engine revs, the clutch bell spins.....all looks well, so I don't know where the problem lies? Any suggestions on what to look at first to narrow down the potential problem area?

thanks in advance for the help.

RC Qualifier
    First check your gear mesh and make sure your spur gear is turning.....then you can check the slipper clutch to make sure its tight enough.

It could be a gear in the transmission if its not those things.

You could also check to make sure you pin is in the rear stubs(I have lost one before

Did I miss anything?
    Former Nitro guy back to the VXL!!

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Do you hear a grnding noise? My first guess would be that one of the black forward/reverse gears inside the transmission has been stripped if that's the case.

Also check to ensure that the slipper clutch isn't too loose.

It's hard to diagnose a problem like this across the internet, so start with that and provide some more details if those suggestions don't help.
    Be vewy vewy quiet,
    I'm hunting trolls...

RC Racer
    wow guys, its great to have these resources. I went outside and tightned up the spur gear, drove for a few minutes and then it stopped moving....upon closer inspection, it looks like the spur gear teeth are all chewed up..i think thats the problem....off to the hobby store tommorow for a new spur gear...

thanks again!!

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Be sure to set the mesh properly so you don't ruin another spur. I use a piece of paper doubled over when I set my Rustler's mesh. Knocking on wood now, but I've never stripped a spur gear on either of my Rustlers. I have on some of my other vehicles, but not these. Woohoo for the NR!