Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357

    Exclamation can i put the vxl in a 4tec

    like the title says it, can i put a vxl in my 4tec.
    if so, how do i do it?

    i have seen it done
    and i also wanted to know how it performs

  2. #2
    Traxxas Marshal
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wherever the road takes me.
    Posts
    37,734
    If you have seen it done, why are you asking if it can be done!? . I'm just messing with you!

    Yes, you can definitely install a Velineon system in the 4-Tec. Other members have done it here in the past, and they have some decent write ups on how exactly they did it. I suggest running a quick search here for either Velineon or VXL* (the asterisk is a place taker, since there is a four character search limit). You'll surely find some good info on the subject.

    Oh yeah... be prepared to burn through some tires if you go through with the VXL system installation!
    "Happiness depends upon ourselves." -Aristotle

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    thanks cooleocool

    i just put a set of jaco foams on my 4tec, im not worried about the tires

  4. #4
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sandy, Utah you can find me at the construction bash site a lot
    Posts
    1,773
    I did it because my rusty was broken and I had to have something fun. just use servo tape or get the vxl mounting plate and motor bolts right in after that. Not that hard just tighten diffs up and they may not last long. Tires will go soon. I think thats it.
    Agree with slowenufs sig wheres the new 4 tec?

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    do i have to worry about breaking belts or cracking plastic gears?

    sorry about the questions, im new to the 4tec

  6. #6
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sandy, Utah you can find me at the construction bash site a lot
    Posts
    1,773
    Probably not breaing belts or plastic gears either. The 4 tecs drive train is moslty just the diffs and belts. Some have snapped belts but I didnt on 3s 5k lipo and vxl system.
    Agree with slowenufs sig wheres the new 4 tec?

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    im probablly going to be using nimh batteries, no lipos.

    would it help if i put 3.3 diffs in it

    thanks

  8. #8
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sandy, Utah you can find me at the construction bash site a lot
    Posts
    1,773
    Yes it deffinatly would help. The 3.3 diffs will last a long time. Dont get a Venom battery though it will most likely blow up and destroy your entire car. (lol) Relly, for 50 dollars you cant beat it and the battery is not big enough to rub on the belt and you will have amazing power and performance from your car. here is the lnik to the battery you need http://spcracing.com/index.php?productID=59 And of course this charger http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXTCK1&P=ML which is easy to use and setup and I will be here for assistance with it because I have it. I would not get a 3s unless it is less than 4000mah (which is not even worth it) because it rubs on the belt. That is what mine did. You need this balancer just to plug into that little white plug thing on the battery that balances the cells voltage. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXMRZ9&P=ML It sounds tricky and confusing and like you need a lot of parts but it really is not. Hey if 12 year old can do it you can too right?:P NiHm batteries I think explode more. I have seen more people with NiHm batteries explode more than lipos. if the lipo is properly maintained it will last a long time. If you dont want to get a lipo because of cost or whatever it is you must get good quality Nihm cells like these! http://spcracing.com/index.php?productID=78 Just use a couple strong rubber bands or at least 2 zip ties to hold it in. Or just get the 6 cell http://spcracing.com/index.php?productID=74 If you want longer run times get the 4600 mah batteries on their site. Every thing I have heard about the company is great, from quality to service. I own a battery from them as well and enjoy it. it is for my rusty that cannot stop wheeling with that battery. Many of us though have had LVC issues with the vxl esc though. Some use an externaly LVC such as the Novak Smartstop and some just get a Mamba to get rid of all the Vxl issues. if you want to go brushed (less power and less efficancy) get this motor: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXJAJ4&P=ML the titan is really no good. The xl5 is though. Get that. You may want more power just with a 6 cell lipo and vxl but your speeds should be around 45 mph depending on what gearing you use. Like I said, use the 2s lipo for more power and speed.
    Last edited by jatodood; 11-24-2008 at 10:33 PM.
    Agree with slowenufs sig wheres the new 4 tec?

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    thanks a lot for the help

    i probably will put the 3.3 diff in it and just stick with the nimh batteries

    now i just need to get a vxl system

  10. #10
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,469
    If I see 2 Jato's together does that mean that winter will last 2 month's longer?

  11. #11
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    hey slowenuff and jatodood. i just noticed your signatures and i totally agree with both of u!

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    somewhere in Mo
    Posts
    4,809
    Same here, I will get a 4-tec from traxxas as soon as they makie a new one.
    An injured friend is the bitterest of foes

  13. #13
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    I did it 2 my 4 tec but I had to take a drill and shave out the left side where the motor goes and also expand ur motor mount holes on the right side but u can do what ever u want that's how I did it

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    pa
    Posts
    357
    that is what i thought about doing stuman. the motor mount holes are not very good

  15. #15
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,469
    Im trying to think how many times a 4-tec got passed over this year. Erevo, Slash, Slayer, Brushless Erevo, Summit, The minis. They gotta do something for sedans next year its only fair.

  16. #16
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hagerstown, MD
    Posts
    145
    I agree though i don't have a 4-tec i would like to sell a new touring car from traxxas cause i can't see buying a car thats been around just as long as i have been in the hobby (10 years) without any changes.

  17. #17
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    7,556
    I have a 4-Tec that I got as a roller and needs a good amount of TLC (plus parts), I'm going to put in a VXL in it. I want to gear it for the track (the twisty kind, not the straight kind), what gearing would you guys suggest?

    (Target speed is mid 30's)

    Thanks.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  18. #18
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The left coast
    Posts
    2,892
    how fast does your 4-tech go?
    The biggest thing i've broken: My wallet.

  19. #19
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,469
    As fast as my dreams will allow. I just picked up the cc 9000 and when I get daylight and dry roads ill find out just how much faster than my 5700 it is. And since Mr Patrick of CC is now a member I hope he helps/works with traxxas to bring about the resurection of a new 4tec.

  20. #20
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    94
    I've had my 4-tec clocked at the local airport at speeds reaching almost 90MPH. Did that with a Novak racing system GTB Esc and 4.5 turn Velocity motor. Have all the aftermarket goodies on it as well. The diffs were the only thing I ever had any problems w/ solved that by replacing the diff balls with Associated hard carbide and haven't had any problems out of it since then.

  21. #21
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The left coast
    Posts
    2,892
    i think the only reason that traxxas doesnt make a brushless 4-tec is cause it would be just as good or better as the nitro verson. im sure they will upgrade it though.
    The biggest thing i've broken: My wallet.

  22. #22
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,469
    I don't see that as a reason. Traxxas recognizes brushless technology as the future of rc. Hence the partnership with CC to provide the new powerplant for the erevo. As far as better the nitro 4-tec claims speeds of 70 out of the box. The rustler vxl claims speeds of 70 out of the box. So by what we all know of brushless power a brushless 4-tec would smoke both easily.

  23. #23
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,469
    Now that we are talkin 4tec again, lets talk about upgrades. 200mm wide, figure out how to incorporate revo suspension, I like the belt system so keep it but relocate it to allow for larger batteries and more gearing options. Oh and lastly a chassis shroud because the wheels are under the body dirt and dust gets everywhere.

  24. #24
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    long island, ny
    Posts
    253
    i agree slowenuff... they need to put the revo suspension in . it would be sick!!!!.. i want an on-road car but i can t seem to bring my self to buy anything but traxxas. COME ON TRAXXAS lets get going with this already
    RX8 E-Revo
    WIDE Rustler VXL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •