Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10

    e-revo brushless is screwed up... PLZ HELP!

    I bought the e-revo brushless edition brand new. I switched out the traxxas radio with my spektrum radio. I also switched the traxxas plugs to deans plugs. After switching the plugs, I read in the owner's manual that:

    "if you choose to direct solder or to shorten the motor wires, you may do so on the castle creations CM36 motors only. DO NOT CUT any part of the wire length from any other motor, regardless of brand or type. In most cases, only the last 1/4 inch or so of most motor wires is able to be soldered. if they are clipped shorter you may not be able to solder the remaining portion of the wire and the motor will not run properly, if at all. if the motor is supplied with connectors you do not want to use, simply unsolder the original motor connectors from the wires - do not cut them off."

    of course I read this after I cut off the traxxas plugs. I cut them off as close as possible to the actual plug. As far as I can tell, the traxxas plugs cannot be unsoldered, but if they can, i don't know how.

    i never once ran the car. i immediately started by swapping radios and switching to deans. right now, the car ran once for about 5 seconds... just enough to where i could drive it out my front door. after it got outside, it immediately took off, like it wasn't receiving any radio signal. Now, when I turn the car on, the speed control blinks green at me and never stops. i have no idea where to go from here or what to do. my fear is that i cut the wires, against what the owner's manual said and screwed everything up. anybody have any ideas on what's going on? i couldn't find out what the blinking green light means from the website or from the owner's manual. Any input would be great. Thanks.

    EDIT: UPDATE: I got the thing running again. It ran for about 2 minutes, maybe less. After that, it acted as if it lost radio signal. It ran straight into my neighbors garage and didn't have any control via radio after that. I turned it off and brought it home and that's where I'm at now. Any ideas ?

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    696
    Sounds like your problem lies with your neutral points on the radio. If the speed control had issues it wouldn't do anything, normally. Go through your radio, reset all values to defaults, then do your setup through the mmm again. Every now and again there's a little glitch with the spektrum radios with the throttle neutral points, no biggy. Also, I would recommend loosening the motor adjustment and moving it out enough so that the pinion doesn't contact the spur, till you have the kinks ironed out. this way the truck doesn't take off on you again and you don't have to worry about it spinning the wheels on the bench. As for the trx connectors, you firmly pull the wire out the back of the connector, and desolder the wire from the contact blade. Don't know why you'd run the deans over the trx though, the trx have more contact area, easier to install and can be disassembled to desolder without melting the plastic casing. Just a thought.
    Reformed nitro operations specialist..

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FW, Indiana
    Posts
    943
    Try putting the traxxas radio back in and going for a run. just my .02
    Are you an RC addict?

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    696
    One more thing, do you have fresh batts in the controller?
    Reformed nitro operations specialist..

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    auburn, wa
    Posts
    584
    Did you cut the wires going to the motor or the batteries. That warning pertains to the 3 wires that go from the esc to the motor. Either way you should be fine shortening them. I shortened my motor wires and had no problems. I also run a spektrum radio with no problems. Did you also change your receiver? I know that the traxxas receiver is not compatible with a spektrum radio. I would check and make sure that your wires from the mmm are plugged in correctly to the receiver. Make sure you bind the radio to the receiver, and set all of your trims to 0 and calibrate your radio to the MMM. It sounds to me like you missed a step or two because you were in a hurry and anxious to drive the truck. Take a deep breath and go through all of the steps and you should be fine. Make sure you set your failsafe to the neutral position so you don't have another run away.

  6. #6
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for all of the great replies, I'll have to go through them one by one and see if I can narrow the problem down. I have done some more testing and I've figured some more stuff out. Here's what I found:

    I put the car on a box and ran it very slowly in forward and turned the steering every 20 seconds or so. This was just to confirm that the radio was still working. After about 2 minutes, I heard a beep from the ESC and the vehicle starting going forward again at around 15mph. I immediately turned the ESC off and then turned it back on again (without unplugging the batteries). The ESC then just blinked green at me and didn't acknowledge any of my transmitter inputs. I turned the vehicle off again and unplugged the batteries this time. Let it rest for about 20 seconds, plugged the batteries back in. After this, it started up and ran fine again for 2 minutes and then started everything all over again. My neutral position appears to be fine, as when it works for the 2 minutes, it doesn't move in the neutral position and it goes in reverse in the reverse position and forward in the forward position. I never moved the transmitter on my first test, just to try and keep everything even. On the second test, I went into another room and moved all over the house, it just seems to do it after 2 minutes. Craziest thing I've ever seen. I'll check out the other comments and work on figuring out if any of those help. The only thing I don't want to do is to try the traxxas radio because I wanted to sell it brand new, but if it comes down to that, I guess I'll have to give it a shot. But I really don't think it's that because it does work just fine for a good two minutes.

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    342
    Check your end point adjustment (EPA) for your throttle channel on your transmitter. It should be 100% (at minimum) when you pair with MMM. Ideally, you should set to EPA max. Good luck.
    I approve of this message

  8. #8
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    I have two 7.4v lipos from maxamps. They are fully charged to 4.2v per cell. My EPA's are at 100%. I got a stop watch out and timed it, it goes 2 minutes and 30 seconds working just fine. I cut the wires from the ESC to the batteries, not from the ESC to the motor. I tested the spektrum unit in another r/c and it works just fine. I have not tested the stock traxxas radio. I still think it's the ESC that's messed up...

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Palm Beach
    Posts
    3,063
    ok , first, the Traxxas connectors are not on the motor wise side of the ESC. So you didnt do anything out of the ordinary there. It sounds to me like the transmitter and Receiver are not binded correctly. You should try to rebind the transmitter and receiver. When you do this, the transmitter should have the throttle in the neutral position. That way If/When the receiver stops receiving the transmission from the transmitter, it doesnt go anywhere.
    Reread the spektrum manual, and make sure everything is set correctly. You want your EPA's at 100% as well as your steering and Brake settings before you bind the Receiver.
    be nice.

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    auburn, wa
    Posts
    584
    what spektrum are you using? I use a dx3r, but previously had a 2.0. With the 2.0 I had a problem with the receiver losing power and having to reset. I talked to my lhs and they said that they have seen some problems like that with the older spektrum systems. The bec drops voltage to low for a split second, but it's long enough for the receiver to notice and reset. if this sounds like it may be the issue you can get a capacitor that plugs into the receiver and prevents this from happening.

  11. #11
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    HoovHartid, I'll try reconfiging everything together.
    yzf128r, I'm using the SPM1112 with the SPM1205. and if what you said is the problem, then i find it funny that it does it at identical times each time I test the system... As I said before, I tried that receiver in another one of my vehicles and it ran fine. I've got another brand new receiver here, I guess I'll try running that.

  12. #12
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    I swapped another receiver in it (the exact same type) and it seems to be working. I haven't done a run on the ground yet. I just let it sit there for 5 minutes in neutral. I'll update you guys when I know more.

  13. #13
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,759
    I had a little problem when I installed my DX3R in my ERBE two. But it was my fault. For whatever reason, I ''reset'' the model in my radio but I did not reset the parameters which is to recalibrate the potentiometers of the radio. Once I figured out what I did wrong, everything was fine after that. Maybe you can look into that also.
    send $10 at paypal.me/Ray1964

  14. #14
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    69
    +1 whenever you change radios you will need to re-calibrate the esc. Check the manual - Can't remember the steps exactly but it will entail turning the your radio on then turning the esc power on with the throttle in full forward. Green blinking light will turn to red blinking light at which time you will go to full reverse. Red blinking light will go to yellow at which time you will go to neutral.

  15. #15
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    10
    ya, the radio and esc were setup fine. it had nothing to do with that. the ESC that i installed was brand new in box, but it was also DOA. I installed another unit, just like it and everything works fine. I've just never seen anything like it before where it waits 2:30 before it dies....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •