Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    RC poster

Why VXL and not Nitro?

Hey I'm new to RC racing and was wondering----

Why choose a VXL over a Nitro Rustler?

It seems to me that the nitro will go fast and cost less in the long run b/c of not having to buy batteries and chargers and what not, just fuel right?

Thanks

RC Qualifier
    A few reasons:

Electric = Faster
    Electric = No Mess
    Electric = No after run
    Electric = No tuning, fiddling with HSN/LSN all the time
    Electric = No glow plugs to destroy
    Electric = Expensive to start with (batteries, charger etc), but they all easily outlast a nitro engine
    Electric = No noise, will not annoy people
    Electric = Maximum torque everywhere.

The beauty of brushless is that the performance is goverened by the batteries / gearing you use, so you can have a car for all occasions.
    EMaxx MM2200-6S,Rustler VXL,Twin Detonator,L/Box

RC Racer
    My choice was simple. The track where I run in the winter only allows electric. Keeps the noise down.

Accepting requests for bashing at GREENWOOD BASHPLEX in Pittsburgh PA!! Check the thread in the track buddy forum and reply there or pm
    Quote Originally Posted by tmaxxnutter
    A few reasons:

Electric = Faster
    Electric = No Mess
    Electric = No after run
    Electric = No tuning, fiddling with HSN/LSN all the time
    Electric = No glow plugs to destroy
    Electric = Expensive to start with (batteries, charger etc), but they all easily outlast a nitro engine
    Electric = No noise, will not annoy people
    Electric = Maximum torque everywhere.

The beauty of brushless is that the performance is goverened by the batteries / gearing you use, so you can have a car for all occasions.
    Good list, but I can think of one thing you forgot:
    Electric = ***** $30, gallon of nitro $25. How many times can you charge up a gallon of nitro?
    Ya can't polish fertilizer...

RC Racer
    ^^^ +1

Batteries will cost less than nitro in the long run