RC poster

Lipo in stock Summit?

Hi!

Im new to the RC world and just got me a stock Summit.

I would like to know what the benefits of replacing my 8,4v NiMH batteries with Lipos are? Do I gain speed or runtime? I would also like to know if any modifications are needed? I read something about LVC? And finally, if I choose to go the Lipo-way which packs should I buy?

Thanx a bunch!

RC Qualifier
    Do a search for lipos and you'll find a ton of info. But in short, minimal speed change, much longer run time. I have a little buzzer that plugs into the balance plug that goes off when battery gets low. The packs at *********, *******, are what we poor people buy. If you got moola get some water proof pack from MaxAmps. Most lipos aren't waterproof, that's when you need a set of Nimhs....
    If you can't be with the one you love, love the one your with!!!

RC Racer
    i have ******* 5000mah 20c packs.. Now they have 5200mah 30c packs that i need to grab a couple of lol.. Solution to more expensive waterproof packs is a tube of silicone and cheap Lipos lol.. i do everything except drive mine under water and no problems. but then again the $19/pack price tag helps..

RC Champion
    Quote Originally Posted by GMMWICKED
    But in short, minimal speed change, much longer run time.
    How is that? I thought mAh rating determines run time, regardless of battery type.
    ◄▲▼► SUMMIT ●○●○● 2 RUSTLER VXL's ●○●○● MERV ◄▲▼►

RC Qualifier
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay 313
    How is that? I thought mAh rating determines run time, regardless of battery type.
    He means that with lipos you can get a higher mili amp hour so longer run times. You can get up to a 9000mah lipo for the summit. The biggest nimh is team orions 5100mah.
    SUMMIT- DeWalt, 4S
    SUMMV- 3S
    MERV- 3S

RC poster
    Thanx for info!

Some people says that you get more speed beacuse of higher currentoutput on Lipos but maybe that is not true?
    Last edited by yamahafj; 01-30-2010 at 04:39 AM.