Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 241 to 266 of 266
  1. #241
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Why i can not add channel 3 ,4 for RX ? my rx is 2218

    when i set up , led tx blink from 1 to 4 , but have not signal 3 ,4 .

    i connect UP,DOWN to ground

    all my try is fail ?

    how to i need setup ?

  2. #242
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    i this do ,i unclock for all

    1 turn ON tx

    2 push and hold menu

    led blink one

    3 continues push menu,led blink two

    4 push Set ,Led blink one

    5 push Set again, led blink two

    6 push continues Set ,led return blink one ? Why ?

    someone help me

  3. #243
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,314
    Have you followed this method:
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...=1#post5081278

    Keep in mind that not everyone has been able to unlock their radios.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  4. #244
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    Have you followed this method:
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...=1#post5081278

    Keep in mind that not everyone has been able to unlock their radios.
    hello Jimmie neutron
    yes, i did that method

    but i can't open channel 3,4. Maybe i am not lucky ? RX is 2218 ,traxxas 2.4ghz 3.3

    now, how do i do ?

  5. #245
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,314
    What is the model number of your controller?
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  6. #246
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    What is the model number of your controller?


    model 22383940



    i wonder here :

    THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY
    Please continue at your own risk...

    1) Set up a servo ready to operate in channel 4 on the Rx
    -- Be sure to power on the Rx
    2) Open up the case of your Tx
    3) Carefully pull out the board/battery tray and set it along side of the Tx
    -- You may need to remove a rubber wire holder and some black tape
    4) Expose the ends of a length of wire (long enough to work with)
    5) Insert one end of the wire in the spring with the black wire in the battery tray
    6) With the power on, touch the wire (now ground) to VCC on the board for 4-5 seconds
    7) Now touch the wire to TSW UP
    -- The servo you have hooked up in channel 4 should activate
    8) Confirm this by switching off the board (switch to the left) and performing the following:
    --Switch the board on
    --Press and hold the left (menu) red button until it blinks green
    --Press the menu button again... you should get two green blinks
    --Press the right (set) red button... you should go back to a single green blink
    --Press the menu button to cycle through green blink sets... 2 for 2nd channel, 3 for 3rd channel,
    .................................................. .......



    Mean connect ground (-) to VCC (+3v3) , short circuit ?
    Last edited by jonh micheal; 01-13-2014 at 11:49 AM.

  7. #247
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JimmyNeutron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Alma, Michigan
    Posts
    12,314
    The controllers model number is only 4 digits long. It is either a 2238, 2239, or a 2240. In any case, the method should have worked. If not, it may not be possible with your radio.
    Whatever it is I just typed... could be wrong.

  8. #248
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmie Neutron View Post
    The controllers model number is only 4 digits long. It is either a 2238, 2239, or a 2240. In any case, the method should have worked. If not, it may not be possible with your radio.
    this unlucky for me .

  9. #249
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6
    i try all, but i still can not use channel 3,4
    RX have not signal

  10. #250
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    3
    nice work !! I am wondering if it is possible to mod traxxas tqi 3 channels to 4 channels using same method !! ?

  11. #251
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. danielhr77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    4,758
    No, it's not possible I'm afraid.
    He Who Dies With the Most Toys Wins.

  12. #252
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3
    Any one try this with the New TQI 6529?

    This is the board

    looks like the board has the 4 channel

  13. #253
    RC Qualifier whitie_bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AB, Canada
    Posts
    354
    if you were to use two prong toggles, then i assume you would connect one side to ground and one side to green or yellow? I just want to control led's for now

    thanks,

    also could someone just run me through the steps to test my remote to see if it gets the 4 or 5 blinks?

  14. #254
    RC Qualifier whitie_bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AB, Canada
    Posts
    354
    I didnt read correctly and noticed this was for the TQi Link enabled transmitter! I have a TQI with docking base and wasnt seeing that board ... also when i went through the programming menu (turn on, hold menu for 3 sec, wait then press menu, then press set, then press menu to cycle through channels - i only show one blink and two blinks)

    Darn it, was hoping to have a docking base remote and mod to 4 way...guess im stuck with 2 way unless i want to spend money

  15. #255
    RC Qualifier whitie_bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    AB, Canada
    Posts
    354
    does anyone know about doing a mod for the TQI (with ipod docking base) controller??? I am finding a hard time finding a 4 or 3 ch version of the docking base gen TQI controller...i can find the new link (bluetooth) style versions everywhere...but now that i was finally able to source a cheap iphone, i would like it to be docked to the remote...where the **** do you put your phone/device while using the bluetooth feature and still see it?

  16. #256
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by bigdaddy747 View Post
    Any one try this with the New TQI 6529?

    This is the board

    looks like the board has the 4 channel
    Did you already tried it. im planning to do it also with a tqi 3channel TRX6529. I can see there is room for wires and under the holes there is a white text: channel 4.

  17. #257
    RC Qualifier Panamon Creel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Central Mexico
    Posts
    427
    To my knowledge nobody has found a way to unlock the 4th channel on the TQi transmitters and the hack in this post works only with the TQ transmitter.

  18. #258
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by danielhr77 View Post
    Hello Guys,

    Well, I got my Slash 4x4 last week and I wanted to have at least 1 more channel on my radio system to turn on/off the lights remotely... If you remember, I was the first to find out how to convert the old TQ 2.4Ghz transmitter from 2 to 4 channels when I got my ERBE last year... If you don't remember it, check my thread about it: http://monster.traxxas.com/showthread.php?t=465950

    So, after a few emails and PMs about this, I was wondering if it was possible to convert the new TQ Link 2.4GHz transmitter from 2 channels to 4 channels (we already have a 5-channel receiver on the truck)... And, the answer is again, YES!!!

    I must admit this mod was very easy to do because the new TQ 2.4Ghz Link is fully digital (no trims or switches)... On the old TQ 2.4Ghz transmitter, I had to add and remove a few parts on the board, and I spent some time trying to figure it out...

    As I always say, this mod is working just fine for me, but, this will void your warranty and I'm not responsable if you ruin your transmitter...

    I suppose you know how to open the new TQ Link 2.4Ghz transmitter: 5 screws on the back, remove the plastic cover from the on/off switch, remove the battery holder and the 2 screws on the board...

    After that, you can see 4 empty pads on the board that says: UP DWN (RSW) and UP DWN (ISW)... You have to connect 2 switches to those 4 pads... I used a three positions switch, that is: OFF-ON-OFF (for the Summit's T-Lock)... But, you can also use a two positions switch, that is: ON-OFF (for the Revo 3.3 reverse)...



    I labeled the pads and also the switches so it's easier to follow... As you can see, pads 1 to 4 goes to the exterior legs on the switches (yellow and green wires)...



    Also, you need to connect the middle leg on both switches (white and purple wires) to ground... I used an empty ground pad on the top board where the trims are...



    This is how my temporary setup looks on my new TQ 2.4Ghz Link...



    And, a video to prove that it works...



    Hope you like this new mod... Now, I can use it on my Summit!!!

    Daniel.

    PS: I'll try to find out if it's possible to make the 5th channel work...

    looks like that's lot of work... but I'm gonna try it anyway thanks!

  19. #259
    RC Qualifier Bige4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    427
    Its too bad this probably wont work for the newer TQi radios... i wouldnt mind being able to convert a 2ch/3ch to 4ch/5ch radio to be able to control more accessories on the vehicle without resorting to buying aftermarket with available 4-8 channels.
    Bashing along @ 30mph...

  20. #260
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    286
    I solder everything up correctly but my transmitter won't recognize the 3rd channel I added. Any ideas why?

  21. #261
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    286
    Did the vcc to ground trick on my 2238 radio and it worked. Great thread��

  22. #262
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    5
    I wish someone could figure out how to seperate channels 4 and 5. mine is kinda boned for this trx-4 i bought, i put 2 switches in for 4 and 5, one to tsw up, and one to tsw down, but now i can only lock 1 diff, or the other diff, and not both at once. Im confused how to get it to lock both differentials, if i have the front locked, and i hit the rear switch to lock it, it unlocks the front, if i lock the rear, and hit the front switch to lock it as well, it unlocks the rear. I wanted individual diff control, but that doesn't seem possible. How do I get it to lock both the front and rear at same time, should i connect a wire to both the tsw up and tsw down switch from one of my 2 pole switches or what, if an on off on switch would lock both differentials in one direction,a nd just a single differential in the other, why doesn't hitting both switches lock both differentials I'm so confused

  23. #263
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by kruqnut View Post
    I wish someone could figure out how to seperate channels 4 and 5. mine is kinda boned for this trx-4 i bought, i put 2 switches in for 4 and 5, one to tsw up, and one to tsw down, but now i can only lock 1 diff, or the other diff, and not both at once. Im confused how to get it to lock both differentials, if i have the front locked, and i hit the rear switch to lock it, it unlocks the front, if i lock the rear, and hit the front switch to lock it as well, it unlocks the rear. I wanted individual diff control, but that doesn't seem possible. How do I get it to lock both the front and rear at same time, should i connect a wire to both the tsw up and tsw down switch from one of my 2 pole switches or what, if an on off on switch would lock both differentials in one direction,a nd just a single differential in the other, why doesn't hitting both switches lock both differentials I'm so confused
    I'd like to know this as well, it would be awesome to be able to control both diffs independently,
    thanks

    Pablo

  24. #264
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    3
    So I have a 2238 controller and wanted to add a push button switch to turn LED lights on via the 3rd channel. Can I do this with 2 wires and where exactly would I hook them up to, RSW UP or DWN and GND on the trim board?

    Thanks to all who have researched an or experimented and figured stuff out!!

  25. #265
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyNeutron View Post
    Update on Ground to VSS method to activate more channels that your radio...

    THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY
    Please continue at your own risk...

    1) Set up a servo ready to operate in channel 4 on the Rx
    -- Be sure to power on the Rx
    2) Open up the case of your Tx
    3) Carefully pull out the board/battery tray and set it along side of the Tx
    -- You may need to remove a rubber wire holder and some black tape
    4) Expose the ends of a length of wire (long enough to work with)
    5) Insert one end of the wire in the spring with the black wire in the battery tray
    6) With the power on, touch the wire (now ground) to VCC on the board for 4-5 seconds
    7) Now touch the wire to TSW UP
    -- The servo you have hooked up in channel 4 should activate
    8) Confirm this by switching off the board (switch to the left) and performing the following:
    --Switch the board on
    --Press and hold the left (menu) red button until it blinks green
    --Press the menu button again... you should get two green blinks
    --Press the right (set) red button... you should go back to a single green blink
    --Press the menu button to cycle through green blink sets... 2 for 2nd channel, 3 for 3rd channel, ect.


    I have confirmed this method on radio (Tx) models 2238 and 2239, both with the 2218x receiver (Rx)
    Did this to mine and worked great. Granted I didn't check for channels 4 & 5, but I was able to add some switched for Channel 3 to turn on and off some LED lights I added.

    My Tx 2238 S/N A0071XXX & Receiver 2218

    Thanks for you instructions!!!

  26. #266
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyNeutron View Post
    Update on Ground to VSS method to activate more channels that your radio...

    THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY
    Please continue at your own risk...

    1) Set up a servo ready to operate in channel 4 on the Rx
    -- Be sure to power on the Rx
    2) Open up the case of your Tx
    3) Carefully pull out the board/battery tray and set it along side of the Tx
    -- You may need to remove a rubber wire holder and some black tape
    4) Expose the ends of a length of wire (long enough to work with)
    5) Insert one end of the wire in the spring with the black wire in the battery tray
    6) With the power on, touch the wire (now ground) to VCC on the board for 4-5 seconds
    7) Now touch the wire to TSW UP
    -- The servo you have hooked up in channel 4 should activate
    8) Confirm this by switching off the board (switch to the left) and performing the following:
    --Switch the board on
    --Press and hold the left (menu) red button until it blinks green
    --Press the menu button again... you should get two green blinks
    --Press the right (set) red button... you should go back to a single green blink
    --Press the menu button to cycle through green blink sets... 2 for 2nd channel, 3 for 3rd channel, ect.


    I have confirmed this method on radio (Tx) models 2238 and 2239, both with the 2218x receiver (Rx)
    Thanks for this! I tried many times to ground VCC on the board but this didn't work. What did work for me was to ground VCC at the top of the radio, just by following the red VCC wire from the board. Strange but true.

    Now, I have a potentiometer that I'd like to use to control a third channel to vary how much drag brake my crawler has. This proportional drag brake part is all taken care of but what I can't get to work is the pot. In theory I would want the wiper to give min volts on one end and max volts when turned the other way. When I connect a servo to this channel I get zero movement although when I connect each of the two wires to ground (without the pot) I get the travel I expect. It feels to me like I need an extra resistor in parallel between the non-ground legs of the pot but I don't know/understand the value of the pot or how I would calculate what value resistor I need. I have a multimeter.

    Could anyone show me the way please? I'm a bit lost.

    Cheers,
    Pedro

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •