RC Qualifier

Batteries and Chargers: Can you 'splain' me this?

Hey all....

I'm getting ready to build a new RC (1/8 buggy) and while I was checking out battery options I happened to notice that the ******* 5000Mah 40C 4S battery that I was looking at said (in the specs) that it could charge at 5C!!!

Lemme suss this out...5000Mah at 5C would be, what...25amps?!

I've been doing quite a bit of looking lately and I've been hard-pressed to find a charger that did over 5amps. I DID find one or two...but none that went over 15amps. Do they even MAKE a charger that does 25amps? Is it even AFFORDABLE for the average 'joe' (which would probably be a better question)???

If you can provide links for some of the top chargers that handle OVER 15amps...that'd be great.

I want to be able to balance charge at the track in 30 minutes or less...is that DOABLE?

THANKS in advance for your help. I'm not a total newbie here...but this issue has perplexed me for some time now. Currently I have a single AC6 that (as you probably know) can only charge at 5amps. It takes it over an hour to even fast charge my 5200Mah 25C 2S Tenergy battery. TOO long IMO...please help! THANKS!!!
    Paul Valenti

Slash 4X4 #25 (Mark Jenkins)

There are beginning to be lots of chargers capable of higher charge rates.
    http://www.rc-monster.com/proddetail...S720IV3&cat=19
    http://www.*********.com/*********/s...dProduct=10382

As just a couple.
    However, if your goal is 30 minutes, that's just a 2c charge rate, or 10amps for a 5000mah battery. So that should be relatively easy to find, depending on your budget.
    Cheap 10a http://www.*********.com/*********/s...idProduct=7386

Just remember that the faster the charger will charge, the better power supply is needed, so figure that into your cost. To charge a 4s, at 25amps, would take a charger and power supply capable of 400watts.

Sorry about the hobby king links, you know the deal.
    _
    _
    _ 3 lines are all that's allowed in a sig.