RC poster

3D modeling of 3906!

Ok, I am a Mechanical CAD Engineer by trade, and because of the economy, am working sales right now. So, in order to keep up my skills and not get rusty, I have been looking for new projects to model in 3d. Well.......I recently got a 3906 EMAXX that I have been wanting for a while, and it needed broken down and cleaned up. So while it was dawn, I started modeling the componants. Here are a few of the componants, and the assembly as I have it so far. Let me know what you all think!

Chassis:

Full Legnth Skid Plate I designed and want to fab:

Wheel:

Rear End:

Whole thing. Still have to fine trim some parts, and add some, but so far....

RC Qualifier
    Minnesota, hey look it's snowing again...
    Nice it looks realy good! You should design a skid like that for the 3905/3/8 e-maxx. I think alot of people would like to have one like that.(I know I would!)
    Shea

RC Enthusiast
    That looks REALLY good, I did some CAD in my early college days and they looked NOTHING like that, hahah. Very nice work, and yes, some of us 3905/8 owners would LOVE a full skid plate ;-)

RC poster
    I need the dimensions of the 3905 chassis, and I can design it. If someone were to ship me a stock 3905 chassis, I could design one. Then I could have a bunch built, and sell them - reasonably cheap of course, and the donator of the chassis would obviously get one free LOL. any takers?

RC Racer
    looks freakin' awesome!!!!!!!!!!!! great job, i tried cad before, *cough* *cough* didn't do so well. and i would ship you the chassis but i only have a 3906 great job though, keep up the work!

RC Champion
    What would you make the skid out of? Aluminum just bends. If it could be done in spring steel/steel that would be great! I'd send you a chassis and bulks to make a template
    Nothin' like a 4 on the floor and a V8

RC poster