RC Enthusiast

Wow only 7 runs and already 2 breaks

Maybe I should have went with my other choice of trucks. I am new at this but I hope this isn't going to be a regular event. I am running the 7 cell NIMH that came with the truck.( I am afraid of whats going to happen when I get lipo's) Other than one run at a BMX track I have been running on flat grass fields. Trying to get better at driving. I have a ramp made that I have been going over as well. So far I have broke a front bulkhead and a rear shock tower. I am considering replacing some of the plastic with aluminum. My thought on this is it will just move the weakest point to somewhere else. What plastic parts do you guys reccommend I change to aluminum? Thanks
    Last edited by emtae; 09-13-2010 at 06:49 PM.

RC Competitor
    get rpm were ever u can much stronger i keep breaking dive shafts with my emaxxx they last a matter of seconds with lipos lol
    jato 3.3/slash4x4/other

RC Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by jerrya27
    get rpm were ever u can much stronger i keep breaking dive shafts with my emaxxx they last a matter of seconds with lipos lol
    What parts would you recommend I upgrade? Just the driveshafts?

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Welcome to the club

Aluminium bulks & shock towers will be fine, with RPM a-arms being the typical upgrade path most people follow. Just avoid integy parts generally as they are mainly bling items, poor strength for bashing. RPM also do shock towers but they limit your suspension options + are quite flexible- this is fine for the a-arms but with the towers this can cause too much flex on hard landings resulting in bent and broken shocks/ shock shafts.

A tip for jumping is to let off the throttle as you leave the ramp; blip the throttle to bring the nose up, tap the brakes to bring the nose down.