RC Racer

Looking for a charger

Ok so I am still new to the RC world. I am looking for a charger for my NIMH batteries. One of the guys here says i really need to discharge the batteries and charge them properly to ensure their life span.

I have been looking at the Thunder AC6 charger but am not sure and also do not see many vids about it and have a questions about wether it has a TRX connector avalible. RIght now I use 5000-5100MAH packs.

Not sure about LIPOs as of yet because Im not sure how easy it would be to get them back home from over here.

Im lookin at 50-60 bucks here.

Thx

Rob

RC Qualifier
    U can buy a traxxas connector, in that price range that is a good buy

RC Qualifier
    get a charger that in the future you can charge lipo packs. I think the thunder is a good charger. I have saw vids on youtube that show all the features of it.
    You just solder a trx connector on.

RC Qualifier
    Hyperion in my opinion are one of the best....

I agree about the Hyperion! I love mine, it will be great also when and if you go lipo.

RC Qualifier
    Hyperion makes the best chargers currently, but they can be pricey. The Thunder A6 is a great choice for the mah level of the packs you listed, it will have no problem charging those.It does great with both NIMH and LiPo. Plus, you do not need to purchase a power supply for it, which can run you 50-60 dollars.

Soldering a traxxas connector is VERY easy, I did it with a 60 watt iron, and it was only like my fifth or sixth soldering job.
    If you don't want to solder, I am sure someone at your local hobby store would be happy to do it for you.
    Last edited by VGP12; 09-18-2010 at 09:54 AM.

RC Racer
    Thanks guys. I am still researching but for lipos I have to look at shipping these home to Hawaii then I have to get htem from Hawaii to my next duty station as the army wont ship batteries.

I had to laugh though, Local hobby shop. They only have hobbies that explode here

RC Competitor