RC poster

Need help with lipo

I'm new to electric r/c. I have a slash 4x4 and love it. It has the stock vxl system in it but thinking about buying a cc mamba max pro esc for it and also a lipo battery, and thats where i'm having problems. I noticed that the batteries have a "c" rating on them. What exactly does that mean? I can't decide on the battery because I don't know what"c" i should get.

RC Qualifier
    C is the rating of continuous current that can be drawn. Now this is a ratio so not all packs are equal. The way you figure it out is the C rating times the pack capacity in amps. So if you buy a 20c battery that has a 5000mAh rating it would look like this 20cx5A=100Amps. So that pack will do 100 continuous amps. Now if you buy another battery that has a 20c rating but 4000mAh it would be 20cx4A=80 continuous amps. So as you can see not all packs are created equal even though the C rating is the same...

RC Qualifier
    Also it's important to realize that when talking C rating you are talking about the size of the funnel that the lipo can deliver the power. A 20c batt has a smaller funnel and will struggle to deliver the power towards the end of a cycle but a 40c batt has a larger funnel and can sustain a higher discharge through the entire cycle. This is why in the beginning of a cycle of an equal mah batts but different C rating will yield almost the same speeds (of course not exact but not majorly differently like 10-15mph difference but usually pretty close under 5mph) but the higher discharge battery will outshine the lower discharge battery because its funnel towards the end of the cycle can still deliver more power towards the end of the cycle and now we can see a much bigger difference in speed. Another thing to consider when talking C rating is to understand choosing the right C rating according to the load of the application. I believe Castle recommends nothing lower than 25c for the SLASH 4x4.
    JESUS says: "Fix it B4 it Breaks!"

RC Champion