Results 1 to 25 of 25
  1. #1
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    252

    Stripped Servo Gears on Both Steering Servos-Now?

    Think my shower cap got in the steering servos way and stripped both gear sets. So thinking of going with one, understand will have to seal another brand, but one with metal gears sounds good. Had a spare for the flux, SF-50 metal gears, plus the stock horn fits on it. Seems to turn O.K.. Options are: Run the flux. Get a stronger one or two.

    Any experience with these:http://cgi.ebay.com/208oz-Digital-Hi...#ht_1563wt_907

    Or this one:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Huge-244oz-Torqu...#ht_1841wt_907

    Another option would be go back with stock gear sets, cheap enough, but like the sound of metal gears a lot more after breaking off a plastic shaft at the top of the servo on the flux from just running over pine cones, yes they were very large. To bad Traxxas does not make a metal gear replacement set.

    Or, your suggest on a reasonable priced servo you have used.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,364
    That's the problem with the stock servo's. Plus one is better as it's not fighting against the other one. For a used one but in great shape you could get a hitech 5955 or 7955tg. They both are titanium gear servo's. Can be found on forums from 50-75$ bucks. I have 3 of each and never had any issues yet. On servo's you don't want to buy cheap cause you will end up breaking it and paying out more money when you could have bought a decent one from the begining. A 10lb truck slams all it's force against those little tiny gears. I just sold a hitech 7950 which has 480oz of torque.

    Terry
    X3-RC8T/X2 ERBE/Losi SCTE/SC10 4x4/Baja 5SC/Rusty

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,777
    2nd one looks better- have heard of PPP but cant say I've seen anyone running their servos.

    Other options ( for the budget minded/ cheapskate ):

    http://www.hobbypartz.com/60gexidise.html
    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNRT1&P=7
    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNRN6&P=7
    http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ium-Gear-Servo
    http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tal-Gear-Servo
    http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Digital-Servo
    http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...Aircraft-Servo


    There are also some nice servos sold by *******. As a guide, 250in/oz @ 6v and .20sec/60 degress or faster/less is great.
    Last edited by ksb51rl; 12-16-2010 at 11:55 PM.
    Keeping the Mods busy is my specialty...

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    252
    O.K. sorry I went against really good advice and went with this:
    http://www.hobbypartz.com/60gexidise.html
    Cheap, I know, figured if it was not the best I would not have to worry about it not being waterproof so much. For $15 I can have a spare and toss it if it gets water soaked, or I could install two if need more power. Besides, isn't the fun pushing the envelope?

    It arrived today. Pulled it apart to look. Very impressed with the size of the gears and guess what, an "O" ring on the output shaft. So all needed to water proof, a little brush on tape sealer on case. As for power, can hold the wheels and it moves to stop against the servo saver. Stronger then the stock servo in the flux. Nice, for $15 can have a spare that fits both trucks. Seems faster then the stock servo pair. Not sure if that is a plus or not, will it make it harder to control?

    Oh! All metal gears save the small one going to the motor. The output gear is huge, a true bull gear. For less the $15, quite a deal. Still saving the stock ones to re-gear if needed. Need to rebuild a diff. before running it.

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,777
    That's fine, that servo is on one of my other 'approved' lists for cheap & cheerful servos ( I need to draw up a list that I can copy & paste into threads as needed... )

    I don't think it'll make the truck harder to control as such- it'll be quicker & more responsive on the steering, so you may just need to be a little gentler in turning the wheel ( power steering vs no power steering I suppose ).
    Keeping the Mods busy is my specialty...

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. asheck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    7,360
    Shoot, looks like a decent servo to me. As long as you're putting 6v to it, I would think it will point the wheels in the right direction
    _
    _
    _ 3 lines are all that's allowed in a sig.

  7. #7
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    1,364
    Looks like it has some good specs. Try it out and put it to the test and report back. I could always use another spare. Glad you got it situated. I would also keep the stock one's and get the gear replacement set. Even tho they are plastic, I still like the speed for a throttle/brake servo.

    Terry
    X3-RC8T/X2 ERBE/Losi SCTE/SC10 4x4/Baja 5SC/Rusty

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    252
    Reporting back. Diff's replaced and out for a quick test run. The replacement servo is much faster then stock. Had to turn down the sky servo for keeping the wheels straight. Fish tailed really bad with the setting for the OEM servo's. Works really great as far as I can tell. Quite the bargain. Put grease around the output shaft 'O' ring, coated the housing with liquid tape for waterproofing.

    Man is this machine fun. Love the way it can slide around and not flip. Maybe it will be warmer tomorrow.

  9. #9
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    panama city fl
    Posts
    125
    what is 6volt and 4 volt and how do you tell which you have?

  10. #10
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    201
    Quote Originally Posted by Douglas Crosby View Post
    what is 6volt and 4 volt and how do you tell which you have?
    If you have the Mamba Monster ESC you put out 5.4v to the rx/servo.

  11. #11
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    panama city fl
    Posts
    125
    soonchangeing to Kershaw Designs Gen 2.1 - 1/10 Scale System $100 brushless if this would be a good change i've read in the forum that they fairly good. or should i wait for funds for the mamba. and then get one super torque(300 ftlbs.) steering servo

  12. #12
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    panama city fl
    Posts
    125
    Or 300 oz torque .....sorry

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    Quote Originally Posted by Divey1130 View Post
    That's the problem with the stock servo's. Plus one is better as it's not fighting against the other one. For a used one but in great shape you could get a hitech 5955 or 7955tg. They both are titanium gear servo's. Can be found on forums from 50-75$ bucks. I have 3 of each and never had any issues yet. On servo's you don't want to buy cheap cause you will end up breaking it and paying out more money when you could have bought a decent one from the begining. A 10lb truck slams all it's force against those little tiny gears. I just sold a hitech 7950 which has 480oz of torque.

    Terry
    480oz of torque @ how many volts???? Certainly not 480oz torque plugged into the ERBE????

  14. #14
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    Alright I am very very misinformed or just still confused. How can torque of a servo differ from being plugged into the ERBE? Doesnt the darn servo put out a given amount of torque based on how many volts you put to it? And doesnt the ERBE provide 6 VOLTS to the sero? Or is it 7.4?????? I dont have a "servo budget" and I want the best servo money can buy, I too am sick of the dual servos and the humming noise I am constantly having to rid my ERBE of....I want something simple...1(one) servo!!! SOmething I can take out of the package and put in my ERBE in 20 minutes or less. I dont wanna have to deal with a myriad of parts and a headache of trial and error with 10 springs and what not to do the conversion. And I also know that what I want is possible, so for any one out there who has done such a thing as what I would like to do to my ERBE, Please PM with the servo you bought. Thanks.

  15. #15
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,823
    Yes the servo is affected by the volts you put to it. The output is based on what the ESC supplies the receiver. If the ESC has an output of 6v that is what the servo gets. Some Hitec servos can handle a 2s lipo direct so a BEC would be needed to supply the right power to the servo or receaver.
    Last edited by insanity; 03-08-2011 at 12:01 AM.
    Cads, Insane RC, PWC,and BOAT CORNUCOPIA

  16. #16
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    I think I'll just stick with the stock stuff and just replace as necessary. This is too darn confusing and its beggining to test my patience. How come I cant just buy a freekin hitec 7955 or somehting and install it on the ERBE and plug it in and that be the end of it?

  17. #17
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,823
    You could but you wont ever get full power out of it. There are plenty of servos out there that provide 300inoz of torque on 6v you just have to look to see what you like the best.
    Cads, Insane RC, PWC,and BOAT CORNUCOPIA

  18. #18
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,823
    Like this one that AoD already provided.

    http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNRN6&P=7
    Cads, Insane RC, PWC,and BOAT CORNUCOPIA

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    OK, so thats the kicker here? When I am on towerhobbies or where ever(tower is best w/ info) I need to look at the torque numbers for 6 volts? Thats what I will get out of it with the ERBE? And what else do I need? I dont mind getting a stiffer spring, but I need to know a part number or something.

  20. #20
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    Is there any write-ups on here that someone has done how to properly do a single servo conversion?

  21. #21
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,823
    If you mean stiffer spring as in the one in the servo saver yes it is a worthwhile upgrade to get the most out of the servo. You need to look at both 6v and 4.8v every servo manufacture out there has that spec listed, unless you have the lipo cut off set so that it won’t ever get less than 6v (I run nitro so I look at both). That is a whole nother horse to beat. A 5 second search on tower using traxxas servo saver gave this up. http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHGE0&P=7
    Cads, Insane RC, PWC,and BOAT CORNUCOPIA

  22. #22
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    266
    This Hobbico servo is a good one: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXNRN6&P=7 ??? Compared to Hitec which I have been told is the best. I know nothing about serovs dude. Your helping me here is a good thing. I have spent all my time learning how to tune other areas of my ERBE. This serov thing has been bugging me for a while now and its overdue to be be adressed.

  23. #23
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,777
    Dont get yourself worked up, all you need to know is:

    1) The built-in BEC of the MMM esc outputs about 5.4-5.6v depending on the age/ revision of the esc.
    2) If a servo out puts say 250in/oz @ 4.8v, and 333in/oz @ 6v, then it only takes a little bit of simple mathe to workout how much torque it will output @ any given voltage ( 5.5v say since thats roughly what the esc & rx will supply ).
    3) If you want to get the full oz/in power from the servo, then an external BEC or rx battery pack is required depending on the servos rated max voltage; some servos take a max of 6v, some can take 7.4v or even higher. A external BEC unit like the Castlecreations BEC or BEC Pro item or something else decent often has an adjustable output voltage to suit any given servo upto 6v or 12v etc.

    Broadly speaking, any 250-300in/oz servo will run just fine when powered directly by the rx without an external BEC to bump up the voltage, thats more than enough torque to move normal sized tires- having a fast servo is just as important as a strong one really, otherwise the steering will feel sluggish, especially at speed or on a track ( .20sec is good, .15sec is great, faster than that will be epic )..
    Keeping the Mods busy is my specialty...

  24. #24
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    345
    Here's a bit more reading on the subject: http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...t=single+servo
    E-Revo Xerun 150A/Leopard 4282//MBX6-Te MMM/CC1518

  25. #25
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    73
    thanks for the links Army, keep them in the save pile im sure I'll be looking for an upgrade when the weather breaks
    3906 emaxx 2.5tmaxx rustler

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •