Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 81 to 120 of 162
  1. #81
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    amherstburg , ontario
    Posts
    7
    oh so would i be better off to get the mmpro and 5700kv for the extra $60 it cost difference? or the sidewinder with 4600kv
    combo?
    also if I went with the 4600kv combo what kind of speeds could I get on 3s would it be similar to the 5700kv if geared right?
    Last edited by dannymac; 10-19-2011 at 04:58 PM.

  2. #82
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Petertje60 View Post
    For some reason my throttle finger is rather "drive train safe". I just love it to be able to drive my car without having to worry about heat issues and always have tons of power available. And I already told the MMP via the Castle Link to be gentle on the Merv.
    Dude; I know what you mean! I love driving this thing flat out pack after pack not having the esc, motor or servo burning to the ground.

  3. #83
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,843
    Quote Originally Posted by dannymac View Post
    oh so would i be better off to get the mmpro and 5700kv for the extra $60 it cost difference? or the sidewinder with 4600kv
    combo?
    also if I went with the 4600kv combo what kind of speeds could I get on 3s would it be similar to the 5700kv if geared right?
    MMP is a much better option

    Either the 4600 or the 5700 are capable of silly speeds

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  4. #84
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by dannymac View Post
    also if I went with the 4600kv combo what kind of speeds could I get on 3s would it be similar to the 5700kv if geared right?
    On these bigger motors, 3S is good for 7x mph.

  5. #85
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Im going to put my 4600 in my car and fly with it on 3S. Fast enough for me.

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
    Nobody is born with experience

  6. #86
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    amherstburg , ontario
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    On these bigger motors, 3S is good for 7x mph.

    nice I am leaning more toward the Mamba max pro now but haven't fully decided yet

  7. #87
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    46
    I am running the 5700 and the MMP with 2200mAh 40c 2s, what 3s Lipo's are you guys running as most of the larger mAh 3s are too big to fit the battery boxes.
    Any help on which makes and mAh's , *******,***** ect would be a big help

  8. #88
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    707
    which 2200mAh 40c 2s are you using? the biggest 40c 2s i could fit in was a 1800mAh *******, still had to trim the battery doors to get the leads out

    for 3s, i run hyperion 35c 1600mah. theres plenty of length left, but its a bit fat, so i have sometimes have issues opening the battery doors after running them.

    look in this thread for the 3s packs with a high discharge rate
    http://traxxas.com/forums/showthread...o-Battery-List

  9. #89
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by fraggs View Post
    I am running the 5700 and the MMP with 2200mAh 40c 2s, what 3s Lipo's are you guys running as most of the larger mAh 3s are too big to fit the battery boxes.
    Any help on which makes and mAh's , *******,***** ect would be a big help
    I'm running the Boost 3S 1800mah 45c.

  10. #90
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    46
    the 2200 40c 2s are the ***** ********* ones I get around 40-45 mins running them in parallel,
    I am really after the same ***** ones or ******* as they are easier to get hold of from one place
    I have checked out the list and some are too big to fit in the batt tray when I have looked at the sizes that are listed ???

  11. #91
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    yankees suck
    Posts
    88
    website for *****/********* 2200 40c 2s says theyre 105mm long....you sure they fit? dont mean to question, just double check
    Last edited by jaytet; 10-22-2011 at 06:53 PM.

  12. #92
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Did I mention how much I like the T-Bone chassis brace & bumpers? This part is so helpful. The rear bumper is an awesome wheelie bar. Probably saved me on my 70 mph wheel stand the other day.

  13. #93
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by jaytet View Post
    website for *****/********* 2200 40c 2s says theyre 105mm long....you sure they fit? dont mean to question, just double check
    they deffo fit mate I have 6 I am using at the moment, a nice fit not tight at all, just need to do the battery door mod ( cut it so wires clear ) so the door will shut

  14. #94
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Leeds, Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    Did I mention how much I like the T-Bone chassis brace & bumpers? This part is so helpful. The rear bumper is an awesome wheelie bar. Probably saved me on my 70 mph wheel stand the other day.
    +1 on the TBones, they are great stiffen the chassis up and give a smooth undertray too, they even have holes in the front bumper to mount LED's

  15. #95
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    I tried running 4S tonight and stripped the gears in the transmission.

  16. #96
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    I tried running 4S tonight and stripped the gears in the transmission.
    Did you run the 5700 on 4S? Would be a crazy amount of RPM.
    Nobody is born with experience

  17. #97
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    707
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    I tried running 4S tonight and stripped the gears in the transmission.
    How about some noisy steel gears?

  18. #98
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Quote Originally Posted by Umar Musa View Post
    How about some noisy steel gears?
    Lol. And a Titanium gearbox. Even more noise!
    Nobody is born with experience

  19. #99
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by Petertje60 View Post
    Did you run the 5700 on 4S? Would be a crazy amount of RPM.
    Yup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Umar Musa View Post
    How about some noisy steel gears?
    I see that Hot Racing makes some.

  20. #100
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    A 5700Kv motor on 4S is sort of begging for a killed motor. Full throttle that is over 80K revs. I doubt it will survive that. At least not for long.
    Nobody is born with experience

  21. #101
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by Petertje60 View Post
    A 5700Kv motor on 4S is sort of begging for a killed motor. Full throttle that is over 80K revs. I doubt it will survive that. At least not for long.
    I just spoke with a Castle engineer. He said that this motor will be fine with 4S for speed runs and to just make sure temperatures stayed under 180*. The max rpm is 100,000.

  22. #102
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    Can i use this pinion and this spur gear?

    Pinion:
    http://www.liquidrc.com/index.php?ma...oducts_id=3820
    Spur gear:
    http://www.liquidrc.com/index.php?ma...=shopping_cart

    I want to have a lot of top speed, is correct this combo?

  23. #103
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by maurif11 View Post
    Can i use this pinion and this spur gear?

    Pinion:
    http://www.liquidrc.com/index.php?ma...oducts_id=3820
    Spur gear:
    http://www.liquidrc.com/index.php?ma...=shopping_cart

    I want to have a lot of top speed, is correct this combo?
    The Robinson Racing pinion gears work good and yes that's the correct size. The link you posted for the spur gear isn't working. I would recommend the Traxxas spur gears (45T, 50T, 55T).

  24. #104
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    thanks friend this is the correct link. sorry


    http://www.liquidrc.com/index.php?ma...ducts_id=60299

  25. #105
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    I just spoke with a Castle engineer. He said that this motor will be fine with 4S for speed runs and to just make sure temperatures stayed under 180*. The max rpm is 100,000.
    That is just amazing. That is so totally conflicting with the specs they give on paper and the website.

    Well, you did a smart thing to contact Castle and I do hope that your motor stays in one piece!
    Nobody is born with experience

  26. #106
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by Petertje60 View Post
    That is just amazing. That is so totally conflicting with the specs they give on paper and the website.

    Well, you did a smart thing to contact Castle and I do hope that your motor stays in one piece!
    Yeah, it says 3S max on the motor case.

  27. #107
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    26
    the original Velineon is much faster. is this possible?

  28. #108
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Faster than the 5700 with the same gearing would be weird.

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
    Nobody is born with experience

  29. #109
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    707
    Anyone know the kv of the stock motor?
    Mate wants to buy mine for his boat since its "stock waterproof'd"

  30. #110
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,843
    4000

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  31. #111
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    I just installed the HR steel transmission gears in the stock housing. Everything works good.

    Castle 4 pole motor + HR steel transmission gears + ******* servo = one loud Mini E-Revo.

    Quote Originally Posted by maurif11 View Post
    the original Velineon is much faster. is this possible?
    No. I've hit 54.5 mph on 2S and 70.1 mph on 3S, and I'm still at stock ride height. The stock motor will not do that. I haven't made a successful 4S pass yet.

  32. #112
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    67
    ??? I have got Castle Engineer reply from Email that running 4S on 1406 5700KV motor will void warranty, and he also mention to me that 4600KV in 4S will reach the rpm limit.
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    I just spoke with a Castle engineer. He said that this motor will be fine with 4S for speed runs and to just make sure temperatures stayed under 180*. The max rpm is 100,000.

  33. #113
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by Supernova View Post
    ??? I have got Castle Engineer reply from Email that running 4S on 1406 5700KV motor will void warranty, and he also mention to me that 4600KV in 4S will reach the rpm limit.
    Running 4S on the stock motor would void the warranty as well. I've run the stock motor on 4S and never had a problem with it. You just have to be smart about it. I'm not concerned with a warranty anyways. These motors aren't that expensive.

  34. #114
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by fastmachine View Post
    Running 4S on the stock motor would void the warranty as well. I've run the stock motor on 4S and never had a problem with it. You just have to be smart about it. I'm not concerned with a warranty anyways. These motors aren't that expensive.
    Agreed with you. I am 90% ready for Big Block and just waiting for Tenbol. I have both CM36 and 1406 at 4600kv motors, and am thinking the matching of the 2 motors with my another Mini Summit. If 5700kv works on 4S, I will try as 3S will also provide an impressive speed.

  35. #115
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    The 5700 on 4S at the max voltage gets you aweful close to the max 100K rpm. Of course it will do that, but it wont help to make your motor last very long. Both the 5700 and 4600 will suffer from using them on 4S. If you want to use 4S, its better to use a lower Kv motor.
    Nobody is born with experience

  36. #116
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    The older Castle CM36 2 pole 4600kv motor says 4S max on the case.

  37. #117
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,843
    I used to run 4s on the older 4600 and it worked well

    Cant see any benefit in running the 5700 on 4s when your testing has shown you are not able to provide enough amps even when running parallel packs on 3s

    Only benefit would be to gear conservatively and use the higher voltage to lower the amp draw

    Cheers
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  38. #118
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    Quote Originally Posted by crusey View Post
    I used to run 4s on the older 4600 and it worked well

    Cant see any benefit in running the 5700 on 4s when your testing has shown you are not able to provide enough amps even when running parallel packs on 3s

    Only benefit would be to gear conservatively and use the higher voltage to lower the amp draw

    Cheers
    What kind of speed did you get with 3S on your 2 pole 4600?

  39. #119
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    2,843
    I didnt own a gps when I owned mine

    I used to run it on 3s / 4s geared 24/45 with the older "boost" lipo packs

    I tried as high as 28/45 but the batteries could not keep up according to my wattmeter

    Was certainly a rocket and hard to handle even when running decent sticky foams

    Cheers
    Last edited by crusey; 10-30-2011 at 09:48 AM.
    Slash Platinum
    Xerun 150 / Tenshock SC401 3500kv

  40. #120
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    457
    How many amps are required for this motor on 3S and 4S? With gearing set for 80+ mph.

    Boost 3S (Parallel) 1800mah 45c, 162 amps
    Boost 2S (Series) 2450mah 50c, 122.5 amps
    ******* 2S (Series) 2250mah 65c, 146.2 amps

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •