Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 160 of 451
  1. #121
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    21
    The problem I ran into using the stock brushed mount is the cast material likes to strip very easy. I've run the stock brushless motor plate with no issues. There is, however, a bit of flex to it which may result in some stripped spurs if you really push it hard.

    I run bb 3500 Traxxas and ridiculous gearing. Just got the 1406 4600 in so I'll be testing things out with the plate flex. The higher kv's normally equate to less torque but in this case, the 4600 being 4 pole will produce way more torque. This is coming directly from a Castle rep.
    Last edited by FOXX; 05-04-2012 at 05:45 AM.

  2. #122
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    looked it up : but indeed there are many many PPL with BB and the stock plate and drove 100 packs and no bending
    so i am gonna give it a try too

    building stuff starts this weekend and will let you guys know about it

    again thx for the reactions and advice
    Xtreme has no limiits

  3. #123
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    building time :

    and some pics


    380 vs 540


    hooked up to the Tenbol and installed my new SPurgear


    Xtreme has no limiits

  4. #124
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886

    dont like it when things are hold glue or with tyraps or rubber bands

    so decided to make a bracket for the esc which can be removed as well

    after long thinking and a couple of beers later decided to take it to this



    its on the old esc his place and shuffed right into the 2 holders on the chassis

    Xtreme has no limiits

  5. #125
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886

    drifit and still ruff of the saw and dremel


    The power switch


    after a lot of try outs
    Xtreme has no limiits

  6. #126
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886

    close up!!!



    programmed the esc by this time to my needs and i am a little further with fine tuning and make it look nicer by now
    but pics of the rest i will post this week!!

    also did a little testdive on the stone floor in livinroom and the power is PFFFFFFF INSANE
    Xtreme has no limiits

  7. #127
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    stuff i am working on now is rerouting the wires and doing some velcro tape on the batt doors

    Last edited by Mossie; 05-06-2012 at 02:12 PM.
    Xtreme has no limiits

  8. #128
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    okee two more the build is now this far !!!!



    Xtreme has no limiits

  9. #129
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    things i am gonna do this week is finishing the esc mount and spraypaint it black
    Xtreme has no limiits

  10. #130
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Poconos
    Posts
    304
    Mossie,

    Great progress!!!

    I really am liking your esc mount.

  11. #131
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    lookin good mossie!!!!! Itll look cleaner if you trim them wires up!

  12. #132
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    dwmoss and Korn big thx guys!!!!
    Xtreme has no limiits

  13. #133
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    Let us know how the tenbol mount holds up!!! Im thinking about getting the HR mount because i havent bought anything for my merv in a long time! lol.

  14. #134
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    me in person : i dont like the HR stuff and i dont be reading good things about it on internet too

    there are 2 brands i am not gonna buy for real and thats HR and Integy mods

    thats why i choose for GPM if i want alu parts or hop ups or for arms RPM

    but i must say the HR mount looks very good indeed and i think the manage to do something right at last
    with this mount.
    from what i see that 2 PPL board are mounted them (the HR enigne plate and mount)
    and it does looks good to me i must say


    for the Tenbol mount : i also dont read many good comments on it but many guys use them and have no probs with them

    they are not cheap , the leave you gears open , they can f-UP the motorplate by bending it by the power of a bb

    but on the other hand : its and easy to install mount and you can do INSAE gearing on it with the right Motor & esc
    have seen youtube movie s with the tembol setup from 60 mph to 66 mph till 87 mph and it still holds up!
    there are many people who love the tenbol recommend them but there is also certain ammount who say
    use the brushed parts and mount.

    for now i am gonna try the tenbol
    at the end of the week i will gonna try it out and let you guys know what i think of it

    i am gonna gear it 31T45T to begin but i know it will get some haevy temps
    but i wanna try it out anyway causssss i like the speed
    Xtreme has no limiits

  15. #135
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    on 3s parralel
    Xtreme has no limiits

  16. #136
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    the cc motor will get hot with that gearing if its anything like the 4600 lol

  17. #137
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    i know master !!!
    Xtreme has no limiits

  18. #138
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    question for the sv2 owners

    on how much % you programmed the dragbrake ?????
    Xtreme has no limiits

  19. #139
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    I dont think i ever changed the dragbrake setting.

  20. #140
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    so thats drag brake off (default) you mean Korn ?
    Xtreme has no limiits

  21. #141
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    If off is default then yes lol.

  22. #142
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    yes off is default
    Xtreme has no limiits

  23. #143
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Poconos
    Posts
    304
    Mossie,

    I thought you were a speed demon, why would you want ANY drag brake??
    I thought I read that the drag brake setting was trying to simulate the brushed motor feeling.
    Are there any threads here discussing all the different castle programmable esc settings?

    Good luck mossie and keep updating this awesome thread.

  24. #144
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    i have been trying out the settings of dragebrake today from zero to 40% and was wondering if anybody use this option

    i set it up to zero again! because indeed with throttle release you instantly lose speed with this setting (even on 10%)

    would indeed like to see what other user have for setup in the Castle esc
    always nice to learn something!!!

    thx for the advise Korn and Dwmoss and the nice comments guys
    Xtreme has no limiits

  25. #145
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    From the software:

    Drag brake slows the car by applying brake to the motor when the throttle is at neutral. Most brushed motor powered cars act this way when no power is being applied to the motor and the car is coasting. You can set the Castle power system for a certain amount of drag brake strength at neutral throttle to simulate this. A small amount of drag brake is often useful in racing as it allows entry into a corner in a more controlled state than when you have to modulate the more powerful trigger brake. Experiment with different settings on different tracks to be able to tune to the conditions quickly wherever you race. For bashers - a very light amount of drag brake can make the car seem more under control and easier to drive. Because bashing is often on uneven and low-grip surfaces, use very low settings at first to avoid spinning out when it engages.
    Nobody is born with experience

  26. #146
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    You Use the Castle link Peter ????

    Btw thx for this very clear explanation master

    You rock as Always

    BTW what do you use on setting by dragbrake ??????
    Xtreme has no limiits

  27. #147
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    Mossie, you do know there is a thing next to each setting that gives a long description of what it does rite?

  28. #148
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Sure I use the Castle Link software. Like korn pointed out, there is a nice help button (blue one with the white question mark) where my text came from.

    Oh, and yes, I use the drag brake on the MMP in the Bandit, but only on that one.
    Nobody is born with experience

  29. #149
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    did read the text on the question marks in the cadtle link software guys

    very clear i must say

    good tip!!!
    Xtreme has no limiits

  30. #150
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    BTW Peter what gears do you run with the merv and the 4600kv ?????

    i do run 31t45t now but i discovered that can turn on the esc real hot ???
    Xtreme has no limiits

  31. #151
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    The SV2 likes to get warm fast i noticed. But with 31 45 you shouldnt be doing anything but speed runs on pavement.

  32. #152
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    I have used 31/45 and 28/45, both without issues. I use a MMP. Never seen more than 130F on the motor. The MMP runs cool.
    Nobody is born with experience

  33. #153
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,717
    My SV2 gets warm pretty easy even when the motor is very cool. I dont know if thats normal or if something is wrong with it. Id imagine that the MMP would run cooler than the SV2 but i could be wrong.

  34. #154
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Quote Originally Posted by korn0307 View Post
    My SV2 gets warm pretty easy even when the motor is very cool. I dont know if thats normal or if something is wrong with it. Id imagine that the MMP would run cooler than the SV2 but i could be wrong.
    That is what I remember when I used the Sv2. After upgrading to the MMP I was surprised how much stronger that one is.
    I never heard the fan work on other moments than during the startup cycle.
    Never did datalogging in the Merv since I got the MMP/4600 in it, but I know my 1500mAh 3S 30C in parallel have a bit of a hard time feeding the combo.
    Nobody is born with experience

  35. #155
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    i also own the 3s 1500mah 30 c ones and the 3s 1400mah 25 c ones

    so you think i got a problem now Peter ?????
    Xtreme has no limiits

  36. #156
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Petertje60's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    8,617
    Quote Originally Posted by Mossie View Post
    i also own the 3s 1500mah 30 c ones and the 3s 1400mah 25 c ones

    so you think i got a problem now Peter ?????
    Only a potential problem when you ask too much from your Sv2 on 3S. Keep a close eye on temps as always.
    Nobody is born with experience

  37. #157
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    got a temp.gun from 3M now so i will do that 4 sure
    Xtreme has no limiits

  38. #158
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886
    done with the big block







    Xtreme has no limiits

  39. #159
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886


    mounted new speed hawgs on the right side because there glued not right and i hate it when something doesnt
    is mounted correct







    did add some velcro tape on the batt. door because i get so tyred of losing pins
    Xtreme has no limiits

  40. #160
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Rotterdam Hoogvliet NL
    Posts
    886








    now next step will be foam tires , still looking to one who will ship to the netherands
    Xtreme has no limiits

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •