RC Qualifier

Explanation of the Brushless Motor / ESC System and Capacitor Function

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    So no matter what I do nothing will cool the capacitors except not going full throttle on 6s lipos..... Correct?
    Not necessarily.

I will attemp to provide a "global" overview of the electrical workings of the brushless motor systems we use in our r/c's.

I am not an electrician or electrical engineer, but I work around industrial brushless motors controlled by variable frequency drives (VFD - similar function to ESC) and talking to electricians I have a very general understanding of how they work. I have also read up on the topic, which means much of what I am presenting here is the regurgitated knowledge of others, and not my own knowledge or experience. For this reason if any members are better qualified than I am, please correct or clarify any of the following information if I am inaccurate presenting it.

CAPACITORS
    The function of capacitors is to control, or smooth out, spikes or ripples in the current coming from the batteries to protect the ESC. To do this the capacitors charge when the current is high and discharge when the current is lower. This charge/discharge cycle creates heat, so heating of the capacitors is a normal state of their function. Problems arise when the capacitors are over worked and the result is overheating and premature failure.

In order to understand where these "ripples" come from we need to understand a few basic electrical concepts and the basic function/operation of the components in our systems.

RESISTANCE vs IMPEDENCE
    Resistance is a concept used for DC (direct current) and Impedence is the AC (alternating current) equivalent.