House price negotiating tips?

Hey Guys,

On Monday afternoon I'm going to negotiate the price of my future home...

I've never done this before, and I'm too nice to negotiate in a good way...

Let's say the seller's original price was $420 and due to the economy situation the real state agent said $360-$370 to him...

I want to offer him $320 and see what he says, and I know he's going to say no to that price...

So, how much more should I offer? How do you negotiate? Face to face it's not easy for me...

To be honest with you, I would pay $360 for that house, but if I can pay less, much better, more RCs...

Thanks!

Daniel.
    He Who Dies With the Most Toys Wins.

Whenever I negotiate anything I try to seriously act like I could care less if I get what it is I am negotiating over or not.

For instance... my 2003 Mach 1 was listed on the lot for $22,000. I named the price I would pay at $16,000. I was told that there is no way they can go that low. I started listing faults of the car and mentioned I am not sure I even want it because of these issues and then walked away. The sales person called me within 2 hours wanting to seal the deal at $16,000.

However, the house I made an offer on this spring played out a little different because we looked at everything else available in our price range and could not find anything that even came close to what we wanted in a home. This means we started where we would have liked to be and ended up increasing the amount quite a bit. The property was listed at $120 but up for short sale. Made offer at $68 expecting to need to go higher. Bank (bank owned property) came back at $90. I bumped the offer up to $73. Bank counter offered at $80. I made the final offer at $78 and it was accepted but since it is a foreclosure/short sale we are still waiting for closing.