Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206

    Question castle creations sv3 and the 5700kv

    I just ordered the castle creations sidewinder sv3 and the 5700kv motor and im not sure if i need to order a new motor mount to make it fit or not

  2. #2
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    muscoda, wi
    Posts
    1,245
    If you have the vxl (blue small motor), then yes you need the brushed motor mount. If you have a brushed (bigger 550 titan), then no, it is a direct fit. I'm going to do the same on my rally/slash build. They are a great combo. I had one last year in a mini e-revo, but the sv2. Loved every minute of it. peace
    Last edited by ajcar; 08-17-2013 at 03:03 PM.
    I'm not krazy. My mother had me tested.

  3. #3
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    cold lake,AB
    Posts
    65
    u will need a bb mount as the motor is 1/10 scale

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    Where can i find one??

    Yes ive heard its a pretty good setup but u never know untill you try it yourself
    Last edited by cooleocool; 08-17-2013 at 07:36 PM. Reason: merge

  5. #5
    RC Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    muscoda, wi
    Posts
    1,245
    Last edited by ajcar; 08-17-2013 at 03:02 PM.
    I'm not krazy. My mother had me tested.

  6. #6
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    cold lake,AB
    Posts
    65
    look up tenbol big block motor mount

  7. #7
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    I have the original blue plate i still need to get a new one?

  8. #8
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    cold lake,AB
    Posts
    65

  9. #9
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    Thats all i need to order??

  10. #10
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    cold lake,AB
    Posts
    65
    pretty sure

  11. #11
    RC Champion dcfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    1,222
    The Tenbol mount works with the 380 motor plate to mount a 1/10 motor.
    --
    "Dude,I almost had you"
    R.I.P Paul Walker

  12. #12
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    Okay thanks everyone, also hiw would i mount the sv3 to the chassis, im not sure if double sided tape would hold

  13. #13
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    561
    Velcro. - tape is cheesy
    use Dual Lock, it holds much better esp wet

    http://www.amazon.com/velcro-EZ-Recl...lcro+dual+lock
    There are lots of ways to do that. Most are wrong.

  14. #14
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    Could i glue it to a peice of plastic so that it slides into the original spot

  15. #15
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    208
    You could use plastic, I think one of the moderators here uses a heat resistant plastic mount system.

    This is mine, I used 2mm 5083 aluminium from the hardware store, buffed it with some mothers wax, nice and shiny





    Cheers.

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. DiggerPede's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Texas, ChevronPhillips Chemical Plant along the Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,176
    I just picked up a Tenbol off eBay from The Toyz. I'm currently using the Summit brushed motor mount and it works very well. Plus its fairly cheap and easier to find.

    1/16 Erevo BB Tenbol Motor Mount

    BTW I like how the SV3 is mounted. I'll have to look into that, as I have it mounted flat where the stock ESC sits. Then again i'm running the Vapor Pro with the fan so it sits out a little bit more. LOL
    Weak Revenge
    Strong Forgive
    Intelligent Ignore

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    naptown
    Posts
    592
    Another mount option is the Hot Racing Bb mount. I run one on my MERV and love it...

    http://www.hot-racing.com/index.cgi?...VXS18X01;c=455
    MERV SV3/5700
    Slash MMP/2400
    Slayer Pro
    Spartan

  18. #18
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    206
    Im really not sure how i will mount the esc pics, links would be helpful. thanks

    I just got my 5700 motor in the mail and its too long! What now, the pole is too long and it touches the blue mounting plate, do i have to shorten the pole??

    Quote Originally Posted by Vaas View Post
    You could use plastic, I think one of the moderators here uses a heat resistant plastic mount system.

    This is mine, I used 2mm 5083 aluminium from the hardware store, buffed it with some mothers wax, nice and shiny





    Cheers.



    How do u have it mounted to the chunk of aluminum and to th motor?? Glue? Tape?
    Last edited by cooleocool; 08-22-2013 at 02:58 PM. Reason: merge

  19. #19
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    208
    I use double sided tape that I bought from the hardware store, its similar to this servo tape but cheaper.

    Regarding the motor shaft, you will need to shorten it down, I had to shorten my neu motor shaft as well. I found the best way to get a clean finish is to run the motor at a slow rpm, using a dremel (or like tool) with a thin cut off wheel, gently cut on the shaft at the desired length. This way I have a clean professional-like cut.

    Cheers.

  20. #20
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    67
    There is a downside on the tenbol mount. your gear cover won't fit. you'll most likely have to cut it up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •