Thread: What to upgrade

RC Competitor

What to upgrade

I recently bought a Slash 4x4 and was wanting to know what to upgrade first. I have already bought new front shocks, engine fan, and RPM A Arms. Im wanting to buy a Billet Machined T3 Complete Conversion Kit from Integy but cant afford it at the moment. Please leave your comments about what i should buy, because I am fairly new to RC cars. Thanks.

-Heckwine

I wouldnt get the integy kit. They aren't known for quality. I would recommend a strc bellcrank. If you have the stock vxl then maybe the castle 3800kv also.
    This will TOTALLY work, saw a guy on YouTube do it

RC Competitor
    How fast will the 3800kv make it go? Because right now I am looking more towards strength than speed.

If you gear it the same as stock it will go maybe 1 mph faster. The main thing is that it gives more torque and reduces temps.
    This will TOTALLY work, saw a guy on YouTube do it

RC Qualifier
    aluminum adapter and motor mount would be good. some people like the king headz motor mount and adaptor or strc motor mount. traxxas makes a motor mount for the hcg chassis as well as adaptor. Not sure what the motor will do but I think its a 4 pole motor which is better and i dont know if it's compatible with the stock esc. You're taking a chance buying aluminum parts or anything else from integy as they'll quality can be very poor most of the time.
    Last edited by guy45ot; 06-27-2014 at 08:32 PM.

RC Competitor
    What brands are the best for upgrade parts, gears, motors, ect?

RC Qualifier
    Mip, tekno, proline, rpm, kinkheadz, strc, traxxas of course, castle esc's and motors, the new esc and motor from traxxas should be much better but I think its more expensive then castles. There maybe a few more upgrade companies that I forgot