Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    installing a Castle Creations SCT Sidewinder Waterproof ESC & 3800kV Motor Combo W/5m

    I have a stampede xl-5 and im upgrading to a Castle Creations SCT Sidewinder Waterproof ESC & 3800kV Motor Combo W/5mm SC10 and i need some help installing the new motor or a link for a video that show how to do it ....please....thanks

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    8,091
    It is pretty straightforward, what are you having problems with?

    - Pull the old motor and ESC out
    - Bolt the motor on to the motor plate
    - Install the pinion on to the motor shaft using really good tools to tighten the grum screw down, or use locktight, or both.
    - Set the gear mesh with just a hint of backlash (or use a piece of paper).
    - Both the ESC in (light have to use double sticky tape or a RPM motor mount.)
    - Connect up the three motor wires.
    - Connect the ESC to the RX (channel 2).
    - Ensure the wheels are off of the ground
    - Turn on the radio and zero all contols for the throttle, then turn on the ESC putting it into programming mode and calibrate the ESC (the manual will tell you how to do this).
    - test the steering.
    - Test the throttle (forward, back, and brakes)
    -Run the truck

    Let us know if you have any questions.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  3. #3
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5
    thanks very much guys!!!!

  4. #4
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Mojave Desert
    Posts
    3,028
    Greatscott is right on...if you happen to get stuck, then here's a vid that can somewhat guide you on physically installing the motor.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fwOv_46xH4

    Start vid at 2:17 to skip the commentary.

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    740

    installing a Castle Creations SCT Sidewinder Waterproof ESC & 3800kV Motor Co...

    Quote Originally Posted by Greatscott View Post
    - Connect the ESC to the RX (channel 2).
    Wait, i thought there were 2 servo spots? I thought the ESC plugged into spot number 3?
    EDIT- the first two slots are labeled ch1. The third set if prongs is ch2.
    Last edited by rcnewbie1234; 07-15-2014 at 09:44 AM.

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Vancouver B.C.
    Posts
    569
    Quote Originally Posted by rcnewbie1234 View Post
    Wait, i thought there were 2 servo spots? I thought the ESC plugged into spot number 3?
    EDIT- the first two slots are labeled ch1. The third set if prongs is ch2.
    It is the third slot but because there is two channel 1s it is still channel 2 i have made this mistake before though. If your steering wheel operates your throttle you have the esc wire (channel 2) plugged into channel 1's second servo slot
    Last edited by T4KT1KZ; 07-15-2014 at 10:57 AM.

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    8,091
    Quote Originally Posted by rcnewbie1234 View Post
    Wait, i thought there were 2 servo spots? I thought the ESC plugged into spot number 3?
    EDIT- the first two slots are labeled ch1. The third set if prongs is ch2.
    Yeah, don't confuse channels with ports. Traxxas RXs have two servo ports (channel 1), these are used for the larger trucks (E-Maxx & Summit) that run two steering servos. For the smaller trucks, it is just a convienent place to plug in lights or a BEC.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  8. #8
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    24
    Does it matter if I use 2s or 3s on this combo? Is there a good water proof system where I can use 3s lipos?

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JerrysMaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    NAWLINS
    Posts
    3,952
    You will find running 3S is very uncontrollable. 2S is fine. If your wanting to run 3S it has been done by others where Castle states 3S is not recommended on this combo. I run the SV3 on both 2 and 3S with no problems. I have upgraded the ESC to the MMP which is better running higher than 2S.
    T/SportMax/Slayer Pro/Bandit
    Stampede/Rustler

  10. #10
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by JerrysMaxx View Post
    You will find running 3S is very uncontrollable. 2S is fine. If your wanting to run 3S it has been done by others where Castle states 3S is not recommended on this combo. I run the SV3 on both 2 and 3S with no problems. I have upgraded the ESC to the MMP which is better running higher than 2S.
    Could you send me a link to the esc?

  11. #11
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JerrysMaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    NAWLINS
    Posts
    3,952
    Quote Originally Posted by rstrobel1621 View Post
    Could you send me a link to the esc?
    https://www.amazon.com/Castle-Creati.../dp/B003T6TG20

    I run this with my 4600kv and best of all you can run the new Castle sensored motors.
    T/SportMax/Slayer Pro/Bandit
    Stampede/Rustler

  12. #12
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by JerrysMaxx View Post
    https://www.amazon.com/Castle-Creati.../dp/B003T6TG20

    I run this with my 4600kv and best of all you can run the new Castle sensored motors.
    What battery and gearing do you use? And what's the top speed?

  13. #13
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    24
    Also could someone respond to my thread
    It's called "Brushless System for 2wd Stampede" its on this forum
    Here's the link:
    https://traxxas.com/forums/showthrea...r-2wd-Stampede
    Last edited by rstrobel1621; 11-06-2016 at 06:56 PM.

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. JerrysMaxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    NAWLINS
    Posts
    3,952
    Quote Originally Posted by rstrobel1621 View Post
    What battery and gearing do you use? And what's the top speed?
    I run numerous combinations but my favorite bash setup is 23/86 on 2s. I don't care about top speed so I don't monitor iy but it is plenty fast enough to chase cars down the street and sometimes blow right by them
    T/SportMax/Slayer Pro/Bandit
    Stampede/Rustler

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •