Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RC Enthusiast

Question I am new to boating and would like to ask a couple of questions :)

hi guys. this is my first time to use an RC Boat. I just bought the Spartan 6S Lipo version and would like to ask you some questions.

1. I am going to use it in salt water as in Malta we do not have any lakes. any precautions?

2. I'm still waiting for the boat to arrive and I'm already buying the upgrades. I want to do all the upgrades but for the moment I wish to use the stock motor and esc. I was going to buy: a full upgrade kit by Rc Boat bitz http://shop.rcboatbitz.com.au/index....oducts_id=1789

I also bought the splash guard and will definitely buy the aluminium water jacket as it seems that the rubber one is prone to leaking when used on 6s.

3. I was thinking of sealing the hatch with an adhesive foam (need to know what size of adhesive foam can fit in the hatch seating) and using electrical tape from outside as well. is this necessary?

I would really appreciate if you help me out keeping my Spartan safe Thanks a lot
    Last edited by loffreda; 09-06-2014 at 08:47 AM.

RC Qualifier
    I'll let those who run in salt water provide their wisdom, but to summarize, it is important to thoroughly rinse all surfaces and the cooling loops with fresh water after running.

Taping the hatch is advised, it helps seal the hatch from leaking if the boat flips, and also helps secure the hatch from ejecting in the event of a serious wipe out. In my experience, if you tape the hatch, no other additional sealing is required. I tried using foam tape, etc. and found it was not overly effective. Taping properly will virtually seal the boat completely.

The hatch on the Spartan is difficult to seal properly with tape due to the "tabs" on the rear of the hatch. I modified my hatch by filling, then removing, the tabs to allow for easy sealing with tape.

hog

Last edited by hog; 09-06-2014 at 09:00 AM.

RC Enthusiast