Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    95

    Servo issue has me stumped?

    The servo appeared to go out on my xmaxx a few weeks ago during a run. I finally got around to working on it today. When I powered the truck up before I ever started wrenching, the servo worked for a few seconds. Then nothing. So I went ahead and replaced it with a new one. No change...still no steering. You can definitely here an audible difference in the esc fan when I plug and unplug the servo. Both the old and new one. I plugged the new servo into my 4tec and it appeared to work just fine. So I took a spare receiver and installed it in the xmaxx. Still nothing. The light on both receivers kinda glitches when you plug the servo in as well as the fan changes speed. And the fan changes speed even more when I give steering inputs from the Tx. Any idea's? Thanks.

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4,240
    Voltage comes from the esc. Thatís most lle1 the issue. Sounds as if youíve explored all other avenues.


    Somehow builds are never done....

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    908
    Sounds like the internal BEC of your ESC is weak or not supplying enough voltage for the servo to work. Other then replacing the ESC, you could try an external BEC, might be a cheap work around versus getting a new ESC. Just make sure you donít run more then 6v through your receiver. You can also power the fans off it as well as the servo.

  4. #4
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by 222 View Post
    Sounds like the internal BEC of your ESC is weak or not supplying enough voltage for the servo to work. Other then replacing the ESC, you could try an external BEC, might be a cheap work around versus getting a new ESC. Just make sure you donít run more then 6v through your receiver. You can also power the fans off it as well as the servo.

    That is what I was thinking. I have never added an external bec. Honestly, would not even know what to buy. I do some searching on how to install, but does anyone have a link to what I would need to buy? Thanks again.

  5. #5
    RC Champion nickruger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by bikerman806 View Post
    That is what I was thinking. I have never added an external bec. Honestly, would not even know what to buy. I do some searching on how to install, but does anyone have a link to what I would need to buy? Thanks again.
    This is a nice one. Waterproof, good quality. You do need the link to set the voltage, someone correct me if I wrong on that.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...153-00/p575484
    If you plan on running more than 6.0v on the stock reciever you would also need a reciever bypass harness.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/powersh...wr-014/p797403
    There are cheaper options out there if you need to verify that that is your issue before spending 60$.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...0004-00/p18210
    Factory default is 5.1volts on the Castle BECs

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Last edited by nickruger; 10-28-2019 at 07:08 PM.

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4,240
    Quote Originally Posted by nickruger View Post
    This is a nice one. Waterproof, good quality. You do need the link to set the voltage, someone correct me if I wrong on that.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...153-00/p575484
    If you plan on running more than 6.0v on the stock reciever you would also need a reciever bypass harness.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/powersh...wr-014/p797403
    There are cheaper options out there if you need to verify that that is your issue before spending 60$.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...0004-00/p18210
    Factory default is 5.1volts on the Castle BECs

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    Youíre right about the link. I have this running my Savox 2290SG,and lights. I love the setup.


    Somehow builds are never done....

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    908
    You might check with your local hobby shop as well before buying the link as they may have one and can adjust your voltage for you. Once it is set there really is no need to mess with it. Just some food for thought. Not saying donít get the link, but it may be a bit cheaper for you to check and see if your LHS has one. Good luck with whatever you decide!!

  8. #8
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    13,530
    Quote Originally Posted by nickruger View Post
    This is a nice one. Waterproof, good quality. You do need the link to set the voltage, someone correct me if I wrong on that.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...153-00/p575484
    If you plan on running more than 6.0v on the stock reciever you would also need a reciever bypass harness.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/powersh...wr-014/p797403
    There are cheaper options out there if you need to verify that that is your issue before spending 60$.
    https://www.amainhobbies.com/castle-...0004-00/p18210
    Factory default is 5.1volts on the Castle BECs

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    I run Traxxas electronics (tx/rx) in both of my Slash's and you don't need to buy a receiver bypass if you run an aftermarket servo. In mine the black and red from the servo connect directly to the BEC and the signal wire to the receiver. That way I can run whatever voltage to the servo and the ESC's internal BEC powers the receiver and whatever else is connected to it (i.e. fans). There is a diagram here in the forums and I'm searching for it...

    Edit: https://forums.traxxas.com/showthrea...=1#post6407727
    The Super Derecho

  9. #9
    RC Champion nickruger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,342
    Quote Originally Posted by Double G View Post
    I run Traxxas electronics (tx/rx) in both of my Slash's and you don't need to buy a receiver bypass if you run an aftermarket servo. In mine the black and red from the servo connect directly to the BEC and the signal wire to the receiver. That way I can run whatever voltage to the servo and the ESC's internal BEC powers the receiver and whatever else is connected to it (i.e. fans). There is a diagram here in the forums and I'm searching for it...

    Edit: https://forums.traxxas.com/showthrea...=1#post6407727
    I was not aware you could do that. Thank you for the clarification.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    13,530
    Quote Originally Posted by nickruger View Post
    I was not aware you could do that. Thank you for the clarification.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    I didn't think so either until I found it and wired it up that way; a lot less wires to deal with. Only drawback is one Slash runs the Castle Sidewinder SCT ESC and puts out a meager non-adjustable 5.0v at the BEC.
    The Super Derecho

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •