Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RC poster

X-Maxx does not live up to expectations (Broken parts)

Let me say first that I have no experience with Traxxas products. My so got an X-Maxx for Christmas, and he hasn't been playing with it, so I have. We haven't ran it much due to the wimpy batteries we purchased (4200mah 2s), maybe 15 - 30 min a day for 7 days (it takes an hour per battery to charge). We also haven't ran it that hard. I have 3/4 acre lot in a neighborhood, so our use has been limited to the road, and yard which are both flat. The highest we have jumped it is 1.5 ft.

The problems started out with a cracked bumper. The bottom of the front bumper cracked and a chip came out of it. I blew that off, thinking it happens and moved on. Then I noticed that I could not get the auto self-righting feature to work. I have tried everything and yet I have had to flip it manually every single time.

This morning I went to drive it on the road and I heard a clicking sound. Every time I would reverse or turn the wheels it would click on the front right wheel. I took it in and started to take it apart and noticed as I was taking it apart that the tire was flat. It had broke the seal at the rim about halfway around. Continuing to take it apart, I found that the drive-shaft pin had snapped and had completely tore up the aluminum Stub Axle. Here is a photo.

Inspecting the rest of the tires, I noticed that there is a cracked rim on the rear right wheel as well. This, to me, is a poorly made vehicle. Traxxas sold this for $800 and that didn't include batteries and charger. over 1k invested on something that lasts 7 days doesn't really seem like a good investment to me. I understand that over time and use you break parts, but 7 days is rather ridiculous.

[edit] I forgot to mention that at least 2 shocks are leaking, but I hear that is commonplace for these vehicles until the shock seals get seated.
    Last edited by thoughtwrong; 01-01-2016 at 03:20 PM.