RC Qualifier

Question Job Situation Advice

I currently setup and operate CNC machines for a company. Im still new to the trade and there's alot to learn so I dont know how to program (sorry guys). Anyway I recently got a job offer from another company making 4$ an hour more, with the possibility of OT. Ive heard good things about the company and I feel like I could learn a lot there. But the situation im in is ive heard of them having lay-offs before. So I emailed them and asked them if theres a chance of getting laid off, they said that the 40 years they've been around its happend twice and they dont go by seniority. But I do have a car payment and other bills that have to be paid. Take the chance possibly further my machining capabilities knowing that layoff is possible? Stay where im at, make less, learn no more than I already know, but basically no chance of layoff? Opinions?

Without risk there is no reward. There is nothing wrong with you asking for some clarification and want to make sure that you are making a good decision. If you have the opportunity to make more money per hour, chance of overtime, good benefits and career advancement then go for it.
    For future reference when thinking about it: when you interview for a company, interview the company as well. Being on an interview panel before you get to know those that have interest in your company by those that ask questions to verify not only if you will be a good fit for them but that the company will be a good fit for you.
    That question may come up: why do you want to work for us? Mention the opportunity to learn and advance your career, maybe they have a good mission statement or by word-of-mouth they have a decent reputation.
    Last edited by Double G; 01-27-2016 at 03:17 PM.
    The Super Derecho

RC Racer