Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Panama City, Fl
    Posts
    46

    Traxxas Link Application way off

    I just got everything together, I linked my 3.3 Revo to my Ipad and with the Revo sitting idling it show I'm going 20 to 25mph, is there a way to reset the mph to zero while sitting and idling?
    I have used Traxxas nitro vehicles for several yrs but the Traxxas Link is completely new to me.

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier Panamon Creel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Central Mexico
    Posts
    427
    You'd need the telemetry expander and the GPS module that installs in the extender to get an accurate Speed reading.

  3. #3
    Marshal Double G's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    13,383
    The speed shown is a calculation of RPM.
    The Super Derecho

  4. #4
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Panama City, Fl
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Double G View Post
    The speed shown is a calculation of RPM.
    So it just mimics what the RPM is displaying and is completely worthless, yes?

  5. #5
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Panama City, Fl
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Panamon Creel View Post
    You'd need the telemetry expander and the GPS module that installs in the extender to get an accurate Speed reading.
    I can understand the pros getting this feature because it is paid for by their sponsor but for us everyday people it's not worth the 30-40$ a month, well not to me anyways.

  6. #6
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    242
    Tappe, the Speed is fairly accurate if set up properly. It is calculated from the RPMs, Gear Ratios and Tire Size. Read the Thread I started "RPM Gauge Works But Speed Gauge Gives Wrong Value". It may help.

  7. #7
    RC Qualifier Panamon Creel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Central Mexico
    Posts
    427
    Quote Originally Posted by Tappe View Post
    I can understand the pros getting this feature because it is paid for by their sponsor but for us everyday people it's not worth the 30-40$ a month, well not to me anyways.
    Huh, since when is there a monthly fee for the Traxxas link Expander/GPS?
    The standard Traxxas link RPM to speed calculation will not work correctly with nitro models at the standard RPM sensor location since there will be flywheel RPM while the motor idling at a standstill thus speed will be indicated. You could move the rpm sensor set-up downstream from the clutch to fix that but then your RPM indication will not work while the clutch is not engaged.

  8. #8
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    242
    Panamon Creel, you're right about a Nitro. I missed that in Tappe's first thread. I thought we were dealing with Electric.

  9. #9
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    B'ham, Al
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Panamon Creel View Post
    Huh, since when is there a monthly fee for the Traxxas link Expander/GPS?
    You have to pay for the service, if you want the GPS to work.

  10. #10
    RC Qualifier Rich2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    627
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    You have to pay for the service, if you want the GPS to work.
    If I put a gps in my truck, who do I pay for that service?

  11. #11
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    B'ham, Al
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich2 View Post
    If I put a gps in my truck, who do I pay for that service?
    the most popular is Garmin but it depends on the unit you buy which will dictate who you will pay.
    Last edited by ragerunner; 04-19-2016 at 10:41 PM.

  12. #12
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    You have to pay for the service, if you want the GPS to work.
    There is no monthly fee for the Traxxas GPS module.

    -Kevin

  13. #13
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    B'ham, Al
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Fahrvergkevin View Post
    There is no monthly fee for the Traxxas GPS module.

    -Kevin
    no one said there was

  14. #14
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    You have to pay for the service, if you want the GPS to work.
    Isn't that what you are implying here?

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier Rich2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    627
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    You have to pay for the service, if you want the GPS to work.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich2 View Post
    If I put a gps in my truck, who do I pay for that service?
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    the most popular is Garmin but it depends on the unit you buy which will dictate who you will pay.
    Someone must be losing out, as I've had my Garmin for a long time and
    no bills have come my way.

  16. #16
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    B'ham, Al
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich2 View Post
    Someone must be losing out, as I've had my Garmin for a long time and
    no bills have come my way.
    depending on your package, whether it's downloaded or live. I believe the downloaded is free for life with Garmin, not sure, I don't use Garmin.

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier Panamon Creel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Central Mexico
    Posts
    427
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    depending on your package, whether it's downloaded or live. I believe the downloaded is free for life with Garmin, not sure, I don't use Garmin.
    There are no monthly, yearly,... fees for the current public GPS usage only thing you may have to pay for is Map upgrades on Navigation GPS receivers to keep the maps up to date, certainly not something needed for the Traxxas Link GPS receiver module

  18. #18
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    B'ham, Al
    Posts
    13
    Well anyways, my TLA mph stays at about 15mph while idling then, it seems the gauge will continue to advance when the car starts to exceed 15mph and report correctly there after. I think it is incorrect throughout it's run anyways.

    Has anyone ever had someone drive their car and you operate your RC car in front of it while driving & check the mph that way?

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier Rich2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    627
    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    Well anyways, my TLA mph stays at about 15mph while idling then, it seems the gauge will continue to advance when the car starts to exceed 15mph and report correctly there after. I think it is incorrect throughout it's run anyways.

    Has anyone ever had someone drive their car and you operate your RC car in front of it while driving & check the mph that way?
    If you have access to a regular GPS just temporarily fasten
    it to your truck and compare speeds.

  20. #20
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11
    There are several free GPS apps available for smartphones. I use "SpeedTracker" for my iPhone.

  21. #21
    RC poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    11

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by ragerunner View Post
    Has anyone ever had someone drive their car and you operate your RC car in front of it while driving & check the mph that way?
    There's an accident waiting to happen. At least for me...!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •