RC Qualifier

Misused/Abused Puffy Lipo

Most of the information a have found about puffy lipos is placing blame on the user for some type of misuse. Well I would like to call malarkey. I am a seasoned vet when it comes to rc along with proper lipo maintenance. I have seen many a lipo puff for no good reason. The latest is one of my traxxas 11.1v lipos. I have two that I use for my stampede. A few months ago I storage charged both of them. When I pulled them out last week, one was puffed, one wasn't. I didn't abuse one of my batteries and not the other. That makes no sense. And I doubt everyone who has posted here about puffy lipo has misused their lipos. Ok just wanted to vent a little. Wish my puffy lipo could do the same. 😜
    If you can't be with the one you love, love the one your with!!!

Did you cycle the packs at all during those "few months"? Once every six weeks (maximum) or four weeks (my preference) is what I aim for because that is what I have been advised to do by my supplier.
    If I don't do that, one could say it is abuse or misuse on my part.
    Alt-248 on the number pad =

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    In the vast majority of cases in which a LiPo battery pack has been charged and run several times without issue, but then puffed - IT IS DUE TO AN OPERATING CONDITION IMPOSED ON THE PACK IT DID NOT LIKE!

Quote Originally Posted by Jakey View Post
    In the vast majority of cases in which a LiPo battery pack has been charged and run several times without issue, but then puffed - IT IS DUE TO AN OPERATING CONDITION IMPOSED ON THE PACK IT DID NOT LIKE!
    Impossible in this case - he said so!
    But seriously, one can follow all the best preaching and practices in the world (charging, discharging, storing) and STILL have quality packs go bad because maybe they've taken one too many frontal (or other) impacts. There are so many ways to kill a good LiPo...

RC Champion