Thread: Parallel lipos?

RC Enthusiast

Question Parallel lipos?

Will running lipos in parallel also double the "C" rate?

Colton, Inland Empire, Southern California
    from my understanding running them in parallel only increases run time. I don't think it will double the C rating punch. just the MAH milliamp hours (run time).

Running it in series will double the C and amps... (will kill your esc if you try to push 4s lipo to it (2x 2s lipo)

I can never remember which one is which so I saved this image for easy id'ing

hope this helps!
    Sla2hvxl,pe4evxl,erevobl
    "Richard Chilson"youtube

RC Enthusiast
    I understand what series and parallel wiring will do for mah, but I'm trying to find out what it does for amp draw?

RC Enthusiast
    I guess my question more specific is, will running 2- 2000 mah 20C lipos in parallel give me 80 amp?

I'm not a battery expert but I believe If higher currents are needed one or more cells can be connected in parallel. Most battery chemistries allow parallel configurations with little side effect. The voltage remains the same but the current handling and runtime are increased.

Hope that helps
    "Drive it like you stole it"

RC Enthusiast
    Makes sense thanks nitro

RC Enthusiast
    I don't mind stopping to connect other batteries, I figure it gives the motor time to cool a bit but I see that this ESC runs at 52 amp and a single 2000 mah 20 C gives me 40 amp right? Is this going to be a problem?

RC Enthusiast
    I'm also not a fan of all these silly adapters, they just add more resistance

C rating is not affected by serial or parallel connections. When you know the specs of batteries, it works this way:

parallel: voltage stays the same, amps can be added up
    serial: voltage is added up, amps stay the same

Since energy is amps x voltage, that will stay the same for both.

Example:
    Using 2 x 2S batteries of 2000mAh 20C (means capability of delivering 40A)

parallel: 2S 4000mAh (80A)