RC poster

New Nitro Slash Owner

Hey Guys,
    Just got my new nitro SLASH and I have a few question. Im new to the sport and i have never had a RC anything before so forgive my ignorance. I bought a used Arrma Kraton and am having pretty good success minus breaking something almost everytime I go out and run it. The Slash is going to be an extra for me and my son to run/work on.

1st question:
    The book says to wait until 70degree weather to break in the car. How important is that? Friday is going to be 61degrees here in Joplin (southwest MO) and was the day I planned to break it in.

2nd question:
    As far as extra parts to keep on stock what would you have?

3rd question:
    What should be I consider upgrading first? What are the week parts?

4th question:
    After I break it in how important is it to consider the weather conditions to run it? Will it run in cold weather? Is there a temperature range you would want to stay in?

Like I said Im completely new and know nothing about RC cars minus what I have learned in the last month or so.

Thanks for you help,
    John
    Last edited by johndoins; 01-18-2017 at 05:19 PM.

Welcome!

1. It helps to have a good temperature but others have broken in the engine in cooler temps. The idea is to get the engine warmed up so that the piston and sleeve will wear together. It will help to put a quick squirt or two of WD-40 through the glow plug hole and turn the engine over before starting for the first time. In addition, it will help to warm up the engine with a heat gun or blow dryer.

2. The nitro Slash is not all that popular so you won't see a lot of forum traffic here. Across the board people break arms and such; though you could check out the Rustler section as the Slash is based off that and see what issues arise.