RC Enthusiast

Lipo battery and charging education needed

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Complete newbie. I need to know about the balance board, C rating, what mahs I should be running, charging amps.....pretty much everything. I am running a stock slash ultimate.
    Slash 4x4 ultimate with OBA.

Generally for a short course you need 5000mah or more and a pretty high c rating from a reputable company. Charging should be done at 1c. So a 5000mah at 5 amps. You should balance every time you charge. It usually doesn't add any extra time. Make sure you turn the lvc on your esc on.

Sent from my LGUS990 using Tapatalk
    This will TOTALLY work, saw a guy on YouTube do it

RC Competitor
    I did a very long write up a long time ago...

Here it is again, I was hoping the admins would make it a sticky but they didnt....

Hi Everyone,

I have been in the hobby a very long and understand Lipo's incredibly well. This is a guide from what I have gathered over the years. This is a basic guide for the beginner to understand LIPO's and the ratings.

Some of this may clash with TRAXXAS instructions of LIPO care and Safety. If you have any doubts about what is stated below please follow TRAXXAS instructions.

If you do not understand something please ask.

That being said I am going to break this down to be as simple as possible... A simple summary can be seen at the end.

Which Battery to buy?

Each Lipo has several different ratings, if you are unsure of which battery to use always safe to go with what is recommended by the manufacturer.
    If that battery is unavailable you may use alternative options.

1) Voltage

Voltage of a battery is decided by how many cells are in a single battery.
    There can be anywhere from 1S all the way to 7S.
    For Lipo batteries a single cell in a battery is considered 3.7 Volts.
    This means that a 2 cell (2S most commonly labeled on a battery) is 7.4 Volts and a
    3S (3 cell battery) is 11.1 Volts.