Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21

    Transmitter Question. Running two motors?

    I wasn't really sure where to put this, but I figured since I'm asking about my TQI transmitter from my slash, I'd put this thread here..


    Anyways.

    I'm planning on buying a Twin Tracked robot chassis, and it runs off of TWO motors.



    Can I still use my slash transmitter with a different speed control?

    or do i NEED a twin stick flight style transmitter?

  2. #2
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    96
    You can buy a special a special y harness...
    generally y harnesses reverse one of the leads.. so you need the one that doesnt.

    Something like this:
    http://graysonhobby.com/redcon-servo...y-harness.html

  3. #3
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21
    Hmmm... So how does that work? In the throttle channel or steering?

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tampa FL
    Posts
    101
    You would need a flight style controller. A y cable would make both motors copy each other so no steering would be capable. I'm sure there is a driving style transmitter that can do it, but would need to be computer programmable so you can adjust the steering to slow down the left or right motor on steering commands. I think the spectrum 4 channel can do it.

    Basicly you need to make 2 channels that would be throttle on the receiver for the 2 drive motors, and the steering wheel would expo each motor based on the way you turn it. So for example as you turn it left it would in the transmitter remove throttle on the left motor.

    It would be easy if you have a good computer controller and the time to learn how to assign each function.

    Sent from my LG-M210 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    RC Champion MikeMcE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Deep in the Everglades
    Posts
    1,291
    Find a Futaba Rx
    They have a dual esc mode and it's proportional, you can adjust each motors speed independently
    HANG UP AND DRIVE!
    Slash 2wd 4x4
    PRO MT Yeti 4x4

  6. #6
    RC Qualifier zypher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    460
    Skip to 9:00
    Member of the 100+ post club! Here to mess up!

  7. #7
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tampa FL
    Posts
    101
    Sorry trim not expo, I cant correct my earlier post. Have the steering "wheel" trim the percentage. So as you turn the wheel it will trim a percentage of that motors power to turn the rig. Curious to what you are going to make out of that?

  8. #8
    RC Qualifier StampedeSwag13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    544
    Or you could use an EVX2 ESC with twin titan 550s like on the emaxxx.i don't really think you need BL due to he fact you are running tracks.
    and RC pilots say RC cars can't fly!

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    7,554
    You need two ESCs and a radio to control them both, either through individual sticks (aircraft radio like the DX6e), or through mixing (DX5R/6R).
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

  10. #10
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21
    Not totally sure lol. But after I saw a guy RIDING on it in the video, I knew I wanted it.

    I'm thinking robotic arm on it.

    Maybe it'll be used to go out and get the new paper? lol.
    Last edited by santafe17; 05-13-2017 at 10:05 PM.

  11. #11
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,352
    best suited getting a multi channel, programmable stick style radio.... and then using software and mixing abilities.....

  12. #12
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21
    Well I went ahead and bought a DX6e.

    Might as well get a drone now lol

    Ordered a dual channel speed control. Should be here next week. slow mail >.>




    Edited for language abuse. If you see a starred out word in your post, you must edit it out to avoid earning warning points.
    Last edited by cooleocool; 05-14-2017 at 09:02 AM.

  13. #13
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    21
    So, I'm still going to buy that BIG tank I posted, but for right now, I got this little guy!

    the big one is 400$.

    This little dude was 80$.

    Last edited by santafe17; 05-13-2017 at 10:06 PM.

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Greatscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    N. Idaho... Da Sticks!
    Posts
    7,554
    Quote Originally Posted by santafe17 View Post
    Well I went ahead and bought a DX6e.
    I am using that radio for my Blizzard, airboat and Wraith, so far I am liking it. You just need to move the switch in the back to one of the center positions so that both sticks are spring-loaded to the center positions.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •