RC poster

Rustler upgrade to velineon brushless and vxl-3s problems

So I am a noob here and in the rc world. Just got my son a stampede titan 12t. And needed a charger to plug into the wall, and wanted to get a longer lasting lipo. I ebayed a rustler xl5 that came with both. I did also get a few aluminum parts. Shock towers, big bore shocks, and a front bumper. The added weight and the 12t titan motor thats already got super hot and smelled like it was burning, burned up. I then went for the vxl 3s velineon brushless upgrade. I put it in just fime and took it out for a test drive i was impressed, spinning donuts on pavement with ease. And then my tire blew. So stole my sons off his pede and put it back down and then nothing, my rustler barely drives. So i check the pinon gear and all looks well. If i hold the back up off ground the tires spin quite fast. But it will barely even drives, whats my next course of action. Thanks in advance for any help
    Last edited by Deeznutz357; 07-30-2017 at 10:18 PM.

Accepting requests for bashing at GREENWOOD BASHPLEX in Pittsburgh PA!! Check the thread in the track buddy forum and reply there or pm
    It sounds like the roll pin in the top shaft broke. Before you pull the gearbox out to check for that, check to make sure one of the axle hex pins did not fall out, then check the slipper clutch pin did not fall out. if those pins are where they are supposed to be, then you will need to pull the gearbox apart and check the top gear/roll pin. There are 2 pins in the top shaft. The one outside of the gearbox secures the slipper, the one inside the gearbox secures the top gear... That is the one that usually breaks, and the result exactly fits your description.

You can check out the exploded parts pages on the support section of the main sight here to see what im explaining. Easiest way to repair is to buy w new top shaft with top gear that is pressed onto that pin...

EDIT: