Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    RC Racer

Beginner here and have some questions

Hi guys.

I just bought my first rc-car (stampede 4x4 brushless vxl tsm) Previosly I have flown the traxxas aton drone and I figured that I would expand my hobby to the cars.

As a beginner with no previous experience what would you suggest I focus on? I would like to be able to service and upgrade the stampede to handle 3s batteries some day and be able to change broken parts for myself.

I have not done anything to the car yet except taken it out for a spin 3 times. From what I understand there needs to be some serious updgrading done before plugging in 3s batteries.

In the meantime I'm looking for another NIMH battery that I could use before I have enough knowledge and experience to do any upgrades. What battery would be me most bang for my bucks (running the car in stock mode)

Any help would be really appriciated

Welcome to the forum.

Most of the time I follow "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". Looking at the advantage of Lipo batteries compared to NiMH, I would consider putting my money into a Lipo. The stock Pede can handle a 3S battery fine, but you have to keep a close eye on temperatures of both motor and ESC.

Of course you can upgrade before you put a more powerful ESC/motor combo in it, but it's not necessary.
    Nobody is born with experience

RC Racer
    Sorry for the noob questions but what would be the best way to keep an eye on the temperatures?
    The Stampede is plenty powerful straight out of the box but it's so fun to drive and I feel the need to learn more and more

I will take your advice and wait untill something need fixing before "upgrading" any parts.

If I do decide to buy another Nimh battery or two would it be safe to empty all the batteries in one session or is there any chance of overheating?

Thanks in advance!!

Once you see it start to lose power you should switch batteries. Never run a nimh battery till it is dead. You can harm the battery.