Results 1 to 32 of 32

Thread: 40mm motor

  1. #1
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401

    40mm motor

    Can I fit a 40mm motor into the slash without a custom mount?

  2. #2
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    You sure can. I run the RC Gearshop 2150...its 40x74. If you're running a long can like that one you'll need to rearrange the receiver/esc stuff but it all fits.
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. El Sob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    14,252
    The El Sob special motor system is 40mm and it fits in the stock location. No need to move anything around.
    Member of the 10,000 + posts club! Here to help!

  4. #4
    RC Champion shack351's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Kville
    Posts
    1,127
    Quote Originally Posted by El Sob View Post
    The El Sob special motor system is 40mm and it fits in the stock location. No need to move anything around.
    I thought the "El Sob" motor was the CC 1415 - 060-0060-00. If so, it's a 36mm can, not 40mm. The 1800, 2200 & 2650 are all 40mm. They will all fit in the Slash though!

    -Shack

  5. #5
    RC Qualifier Iansprouse1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Asheville NC
    Posts
    441
    shack is right. the 2400kv is definitely a 36mm can
    Slash 4x4, Stampede 4x4, SCX10, Bearded Dragon

  6. #6
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Correct...the 2400 is 36x70 the 2200 is 40x74 and the 2650 is 40x68. My RC Gearshop is 40x74 and my Kershaw is 36x74.
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. El Sob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    14,252
    Quote Originally Posted by shack351 View Post
    I thought the "El Sob" motor was the CC 1415 - 060-0060-00. If so, it's a 36mm can, not 40mm. The 1800, 2200 & 2650 are all 40mm. They will all fit in the Slash though!

    -Shack
    You are correct! I was looking at some weird website. The 36mm can fits great. So 4mm more isn't going to be a huge difference.
    Member of the 10,000 + posts club! Here to help!

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    good to know... I was actually looking at rc gearshop for the 40mm ---- 42mm is too big, but sounds as if a 40mm will drop right in....

  9. #9
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    SoCal.
    Posts
    752
    Yes you can, I have two slash trucks running the castle finned 2200kv motors, stock mounts.
    IG: @818sFastestRC
    Slash 4x4 138MPH

  10. #10
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,594
    40mm fits the stock motor mounts... I have the re-branded finned Traxxas 2200kV, the finned Castle sensored 2200kV, and the finned Tekin sensored 2250kV.

    I usually Dremel off a little off the chassis just below the end of the motor's can. I use the paper mesh method to make my determination. I put a piece of paper between the motor and the chassis. If it doesn't move, I take a little off the chassis.
    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

  11. #11
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by Squeegie View Post
    40mm fits the stock motor mounts... I have the re-branded finned Traxxas 2200kV, the finned Castle sensored 2200kV, and the finned Tekin sensored 2250kV.

    I usually Dremel off a little off the chassis just below the end of the motor's can. I use the paper mesh method to make my determination. I put a piece of paper between the motor and the chassis. If it doesn't move, I take a little off the chassis.
    Correct. If you run a 40x74 long motor one of the original esc mount bosses gets pretty cozy. I knocked mine off as well. Running a 68 or 70mm long can it won't be in the way. The 74mm long can sits right on it.
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  12. #12
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    Probably going to get the rc gearshop motor soon.... the 4074, plan on stepping up to 3s or 4s.... probably 3s though.... still want the choice of 2s, but we will see.....

    The spc and value hobby I have now are getting tired, and slightly puffed

  13. #13
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    Probably going to get the rc gearshop motor soon.... the 4074, plan on stepping up to 3s or 4s.... probably 3s though.... still want the choice of 2s, but we will see.....

    The spc and value hobby I have now are getting tired, and slightly puffed
    That 2150 will want 3s minimum. It's a torquey motor. I have mine geared 20/50 and have yet to get it over 150f. It'll dangle the front across my yard(almost 200') and if I'm on pavement it'll flop on it's lid if you don't use a bit of finger control...lol. I've been very happy with it's performance, I hope yours treats well also......hard to beat the bang for the buck. Former member Matts175 ran one as well and was pleased with it.

    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    the track I go to requires 2s maximum.... and I really don't feel like changing motors to take it to the track..... that said, I guess I could just run the 3s, and not tell them... I don't race in sanctioned races, just bash

  15. #15
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    the track I go to requires 2s maximum.... and I really don't feel like changing motors to take it to the track..... that said, I guess I could just run the 3s, and not tell them... I don't race in sanctioned races, just bash
    Curious...what do you run now and why the change? What are you using for an esc?
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  16. #16
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    I run an rx8v2 and a pro4 4000kv I am borrowing from thesmogman, 2s, and geared probably more aggressive than it should be

  17. #17
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    I run an rx8v2 and a pro4 4000kv I am borrowing from thesmogman, 2s, and geared probably more aggressive than it should be
    You obviously have a ton more experience than I do so my questions are to help me learn. Do you like that Tekin setup? It looks like a very track friendly setup. To me that 1/8th scale setup is more of a basher setup than a track deal. That 4074 RC Gearshop is heavy as is the 3s pack it'll really like.Do you have a reason you want to run an 1/8th setup on the track?
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  18. #18
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    Quote Originally Posted by Dcuda69 View Post
    You obviously have a ton more experience than I do so my questions are to help me learn. Do you like that Tekin setup? It looks like a very track friendly setup. To me that 1/8th scale setup is more of a basher setup than a track deal. That 4074 RC Gearshop is heavy as is the 3s pack it'll really like.Do you have a reason you want to run an 1/8th setup on the track?
    I am a basher, while I have not entered any races, I do like to take it to the track and drive.... mostly though, I just bash.... hard....

    the tekin setup is fine, but I think my gearing is probably a little bit too aggressive for it, and thus, it gets warmer than I should allow it.... I want maximum bash, without blowing stuff up. I already have quite a few mods, and my rig is pretty heavy already.... heck the mips are 3x heavier than their stock counterparts alone.....

    thesmogman actually has his setup in check, and he runs a rx8 and a 4300kv pro4 hd

  19. #19
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    so... just waiting on some sales to drop at this point......

  20. #20
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    I am a basher, while I have not entered any races, I do like to take it to the track and drive.... mostly though, I just bash.... hard....

    the tekin setup is fine, but I think my gearing is probably a little bit too aggressive for it, and thus, it gets warmer than I should allow it.... I want maximum bash, without blowing stuff up. I already have quite a few mods, and my rig is pretty heavy already.... heck the mips are 3x heavier than their stock counterparts alone.....

    thesmogman actually has his setup in check, and he runs a rx8 and a 4300kv pro4 hd
    Gotcha! That Gearshop motor runs great for me. I power it using the HW SC8 with a program card for tweaks. Good luck with your upgrades!
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  21. #21
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    so, I have been looking around, and have found some motors that look really similar to the rc gear shop... like $10 cheaper..... hmmmm

    since they are all made in china......

  22. #22
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    so, I have been looking around, and have found some motors that look really similar to the rc gear shop... like $10 cheaper..... hmmmm

    since they are all made in china......
    There's a ton of stuff out there. I've been eyeing up some of the Leopard offerings as well. Have you decided on an esc? Sensored or no? Leopard website...click on car and the bottom of the 2nd page starts some 4 pole stuff...they have a 3674 can in 2650kv that would be a hoot on 3s and silly fast on 4s. Similar to a Kershaw 2700kv I have. They show a 3250kv that likely run well on 2s...Good luck!

    http://www.leopardhobby.com/index.html
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  23. #23
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    455
    My only opinion Jimbo is try to go Sensored if you can. I just put a 3800kv sensored in my track car. Its so smooooth on take offs it's amazing. I will more than likely never buy another sensorless motor again.

  24. #24
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    looks like I will have to buy a $70 leopard if I want sensored.....

  25. #25
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    hmmmm..... so time to revisit this... does nayone have a sensored 4074 motor? the only ones I have seen are the value hobby, but it is out of stock.....

    the rc gearshop isn't nor the leopards I am finding.... the only other sensored one I can find is Integy! and comes with an esc --- I trust Integy about as far as my poop plops into the toilet, so like less than 3"

  26. #26
    RC Racer rcdabbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Granite Falls, WA
    Posts
    240
    How about a Hobbywing sensored 4068? https://www.ebay.com/i/322415462646?rt=nc

  27. #27
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,401
    I have actually decided on a motor. Will update this later.... shack, don't spoil it ;-)

  28. #28
    RC Champion shack351's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Kville
    Posts
    1,127
    LOL... not a chance brother!

    -Shack

  29. #29
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    94
    That RC Gear Shop 2150 you guys have been talking about says in its specs it is a 2600 Watt motor. That means that on 2S it will want 350 amps!!! Not sure that's the best 2S setup unless you have found some 5000 mah 70C batteries that really are 70C.

  30. #30
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    630
    More old thread digging. Last post in this one was 2 years ago my friend.

    At any rate I don't believe you will see any 2s batteries or 1/8 scale ESCs pulling/providing 350amps. I have run a 4600 watt motor 2200kv and only ran 180 amps on 2s with the Mamba Monster X esc.

    To have watts you take volts * amps. In most cases the 2s 7.4v power is the limiting factor their keeping you from reaching the 2600watts.
    7.4v (after voltage sag) * 180 amps is around 1200-1350 watts
    In the case of the RC Gear Shop 2150 they are rating it at 120 amps and 23 volts to reach the 2600 watts figure.

    -Liberty

  31. #31
    RC Champion Dcuda69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    2,974
    Not sure why you would run an 1/8th scale motor on 2s? I run that Gearshop motor with a HW WP SC8 on 3s and 4s geared 20/50. Zero issues. Biggest issue I have is keeping the front end down.....loves to back flip! lol
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

  32. #32
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    94
    Now I see that it is indeed two years old. When I wrote my reply it was to one of the 25 or so posts in my “new posts” list. Hmmm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •