Results 1 to 34 of 34
  1. #1
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41

    controlling channel 3,4,5 on TSM TQi receiver from Traxxas Link Wireless Module

    Hi,

    I'd like to install LED lights on an unused channel of the TQi receiver.
    Shall I be able to turn them on/off from the Traxxas Link app if I have the wireless module on my transmitter ?
    Or any other way ?

    thanks.

  2. #2
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,440
    Welcome to the Traxxas forums!

    You would need to install a remote switch to your Rx to control lights:

    http://www.rpphobby.com/SearchResult...=remote+switch

    Have fun!
    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

  3. #3
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    thanks. I guess then I will put this remote switch between the leds and the receiver channel 3 port. is that correct ?

    then how shall I control it ? I don't have a separate channel 3 button on my remote.

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    159

    controlling channel 3,4,5 on TSM TQi receiver from Traxxas Link Wireless Module

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    thanks. I guess then I will put this remote switch between the leds and the receiver channel 3 port. is that correct ?

    then how shall I control it ? I don't have a separate channel 3 button on my remote.
    Hello again.

    Google is your friend when it comes to switch installation. I assume it would come with documentation on how to install it.

    Youll have to change to a 3 or 5 channel transmitter. The receiver has 5 channels, but the revo vxl comes with a 2 channel transmitter. Youd have to change transmitters.

    For what its worth, those channels have power always, so you can always plugs lights into them, just not control remotely without changing something. All of my trucks have lights, but I leave them on all the time. One expectation to this is my Xmaxx which has both lights I leave on always, and a light bar on top that I use a specialized light controller through channel 3 (and a 5 channel transmitter) to control.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by PitchforkR; 12-10-2017 at 12:51 AM.
    Maxx 8S

  5. #5
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    thanks for your reply. But I just don't understand this :

    if the receiver has 5 channels and we install sensors on 3,4,5th channels and if the remote doesn't have those channels , how can it receive info from those sensors ?

  6. #6
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    thanks for your reply. But I just don't understand this :

    if the receiver has 5 channels and we install sensors on 3,4,5th channels and if the remote doesn't have those channels , how can it receive info from those sensors ?
    The sensors do NOT plug into channels 3,4,5. There are 2 slots for the sensors above the 5 channels for a total of 7 slots. The top two are the sensor slots and they are labeled (super small letters, but there). The receiver relays the information to your radio via the Bluetooth module that you said you purchased, and you view the information through the TraxxasLink app.

    You can add additional telemetry beyond temp, rpm, and voltage if you so desire, but you would need to add a telemetry expander. Id start with what you have and add later. The telemetry expander can be a bit tricky, but Im happy to help you with it if you go that route at some point.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Maxx 8S

  7. #7
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    hi everyone,

    I am back on this subject after more than a year.
    I have a 5 channel receiver on my Revo VXL and a 2 channel transmitter.
    I want to install LEDs on the Revo.
    So I decided to purchase part number 7185
    This is the complete LED kit for Revo VXL

    But I also want to control them from the remote.
    So I decided to change my remote with a 4 channel remote
    I guess part number 6530 at below URL is suitable for this purpose:
    https://www.amazon.com/Traxxas-Enabl...s=traxxas+6530

    I'd appreciate if anyone can confirm.

    With this remote , I will be able to control 2 more channels.

    But is this enough for controlling the leds ?

    If yes, how shall I connect the leds ? Just connect their cable to the empty slots of the receiver ?

    And last question:
    What else can I control with a 4 channel transmitter ?


    *parts that I consider buying:
    https://www.amazon.com/Traxxas-16Th-...s=traxxas+7185
    https://www.amazon.com/Traxxas-Enabl...s=traxxas+6530

  8. #8
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    I'd appreciate if anyone could give an idea.
    I need to order parts to make it in time for my son's birthday

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,440
    It should work, but you would still need to plug your LEDs into a remote switch that plugs into your Rx.

    Here's one for example:
    https://www.rpphobby.com/product_p/heyrcsw1.htm
    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

  10. #10
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Squeegie View Post
    It should work, but you would still need to plug your LEDs into a remote switch that plugs into your Rx.

    Here's one for example:
    https://www.rpphobby.com/product_p/heyrcsw1.htm
    why is it required ?
    the receiver will do the switching based on the command received from the transmitter.
    am I wrong ?
    otherwise, where shall I put the switch ?

  11. #11
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    why is it required ?
    the receiver will do the switching based on the command received from the transmitter.
    am I wrong ?
    otherwise, where shall I put the switch ?
    I'd appreciate any feedback

  12. #12
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    I guess this is a subject which is not known much.
    That should be the reason of few answers.
    these answers are not really helping because without a reason I don't understand why I need a remote controlled switch.
    since the leds will be connected to the receiver and the receiver will receive commands from the transmitter, why do I need a remote switch ?

    also, what other use cases are there for a 4 or 5 channel transmitter ?

  13. #13
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    I guess this is a subject which is not known much.
    That should be the reason of few answers.
    these answers are not really helping because without a reason I don't understand why I need a remote controlled switch.
    since the leds will be connected to the receiver and the receiver will receive commands from the transmitter, why do I need a remote switch ?

    also, what other use cases are there for a 4 or 5 channel transmitter ?
    You need the switch, the power ports on your reciever is always on. The signal port is what controls the action. Your led light kit only has two wires, a positive and negative for power. Since your reciever will always supply the power, as soon as you plug the lights in they will turn on. What the remote switch will do is utilize the signal wire to remotely turn on and off the supply of power to the lights. If there's room in your reciever box you can stuff the switch in there. If not, mount it somewhere on the chassis.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  14. #14
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,440
    ^What he said.

    OP: Sorry... I didn't come back to this thread to see your question.
    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

  15. #15
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    thanks.
    I see that the led has only 2 wires and I have to put the switch between receiver and led wires. is that correct ?
    this is in fact just a cable right ?
    no components in it.

    would this also work:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071HD3JL6...i-a=B071HD3JL6

    it is cheaper with 2 pack and has a button to mount.

    besides, I prefer Amazon.com
    Last edited by mrmrmrmr; 02-09-2019 at 12:45 PM.

  16. #16
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    thanks.
    I see that the led has only 2 wires and I have to put the switch between receiver and led wires. is that correct ?
    this is in fact just a cable right ?
    no components in it.
    Squeegies post number 9. All it does is use the signal wire to control power to the lights. It's an on off switch controlled remotely.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  17. #17
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    would this also work:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071HD3JL6...i-a=B071HD3JL6

    it is cheaper with 2 pack and has a button to mount.

    besides, I prefer Amazon.com

  18. #18
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    That would be a mechanical switch. You need a electronic controller switch
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  19. #19
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    would you suggest something from Amazon.com ?
    I live in Turkey and shipments are possible from Amazon.

  20. #20
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by mrmrmrmr View Post
    would you suggest something from Amazon.com ?
    I live in Turkey and shipments are possible from Amazon.
    I'd appreciate any information on this please.

  21. #21
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    Hopefully some one will chime in with an Amazon link. Read the specs on squeegies link and match up to something on Amazon.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  22. #22
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,440
    This one sounds like it would work for you:

    https://www.amazon.com/Receiver-Sing...teway&sr=8-107

    Good luck!
    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

  23. #23
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Squeegie View Post
    This one sounds like it would work for you:

    https://www.amazon.com/Receiver-Sing...teway&sr=8-107

    Good luck!

    thanks. unfortunately they didn't send to Turkey.

    Anyway, I decided to start with a non-controllable led installation.
    So today I installed the Leds from kit from here:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


    But I have an issue.

    I connected the red wire from the module to the receiver (channel 4) ; it is a single wire.

    I connected the leds to the module (first slot from right on the module )

    then I connected the power tap to a spare battery to test.
    I didn't connect it to the connector on the ESC because it doesn't fit when I try to put the tap between the battery and the ESC connector.

    my questions:
    1. why doesn't the leds turn on when I turn the power on and connect the LED module to a spare battery ? is there a setting to be made for the 4th channel to supply voltage ?
    2. how can I fit the power tap , between the battery and the ESC power connector ?

  24. #24
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    I have solved the problem by removing the rubber parts of the connector.
    and when I connect it between the esc and battery , leds work fine.

    BUT...

    I didn't understand why we have a led module and why we connect it to a channel of the receiver.
    it doesn't help anything.
    it even doesn't wait for the transmitter to be ON.
    when I turn the ESC on, leds power on.
    so why do we have a module ? what does it do ?
    is there a way to confiure it to turn on when transmitter is connected ?

  25. #25
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    I'd appreciate if anyone could clarify this for me...

  26. #26
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    First, you shouldn't turn your car on before the transmitter. Second, by plugging it in to the reciever all you are doing is supplying it power, so when the car is on, your lights will be on.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  27. #27
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by FnFancy View Post
    First, you shouldn't turn your car on before the transmitter. Second, by plugging it in to the reciever all you are doing is supplying it power, so when the car is on, your lights will be on.
    basically when I don't use the car , the battery is not connected. so when I want to use, I first connect the battery. And the leds can be powered directly from the power tap between battery and ESC
    so I still can't understand the need for "led module"
    it does nothing smart...
    if it was adjusting the power of the leds according to speed, or at least turn them on only when the remote is connected, I would say it has a meaning...
    but no ?

  28. #28
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    What module do you have?
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  29. #29
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by FnFancy View Post
    What module do you have?
    I have the module form this package :
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

  30. #30
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    You don't have a light control module. You have a power supply. True light control modules will allow you to control the lights, like you can set them to flash, or brake lights. Stuff like that.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  31. #31
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by FnFancy View Post
    You don't have a light control module. You have a power supply. True light control modules will allow you to control the lights, like you can set them to flash, or brake lights. Stuff like that.
    I didn't say it is a light control module. But it is a module and as far as I see it is useless.
    Then why do we have it ? I really don't understand.

  32. #32
    RC Champion FnFancy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Los Al California
    Posts
    1,636
    This is a light control, it allows me to plug in multiple LEDs, and program what I want them to do. What you have takes the power from the battery and distributes it to the lights. I've lost track of what it is you're trying to figure out.
    Its alright son I'll fix it when you break it

  33. #33
    RC Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    41
    thanks.
    I just wanted to understand what I could do with this module.
    When I see that it works without connecting it to the receiver port, I want to understand what is it meant for.

  34. #34
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. Squeegie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    7,440
    Would this video help?

    Creativity is intelligence having fun. -Einstein

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •