Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239

    Accidently bought a sidewinder.

    So I was at a nearby hobby shop and I saw a castle 1410 sensored combo and thought why not go brushless. I failed to notice the included esc was a sidewinder 3. So now I have a sensored motor and a non sensored esc. I will end up selling the sidewinder 3 for about $50 on eBay but I was wondering what cheap sensored *preferably waterproof* esc's you guys have tried. Any help is appreciated

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier zypher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    DE
    Posts
    460
    The esc is smart sense if you bought a castle combo. It will work


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Member of the 100+ post club! Here to mess up!

  3. #3
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,352
    a non sensored esc will still run a sensored motor

  4. #4
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by jimbo74 View Post
    a non sensored esc will still run a sensored motor
    Yes I know. But it's in a trx 4 which is a crawler so I would really like it to be sensored.

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    5,723
    My input, is try what you've got. If you're careful how you set it up, and gear properly, you can achieve a very smooth startup with the castle firmware. If you're not looking to return it, that's really your only option. Or get a high powered brushed motor. I vote you try what you have.

    You have castle link? Play with your startup power, the torque control, etc.

    The vxl3s is a sensored esc, and they are hard to give away. They don't seem to offer the same power at a given voltage as a comparable esc of another brand, but that might be worth a try if you're in a tight budget. I want to say I had to sell my vxl motor AND esc for like $50 to get it gone.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    Last edited by mwe-maxxowner; 02-04-2018 at 02:14 PM.
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,352
    the newer vxl3s are not sensor capable

  7. #7
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by mwe-maxxowner View Post
    My input, is try what you've got. If you're careful how you set it up, and gear properly, you can achieve a very smooth startup with the castle firmware. If you're not looking to return it, that's really your only option. Or get a high powered brushed motor. I vote you try what you have.

    You have castle link? Play with your startup power, the torque control, etc.

    The vxl3s is a sensored esc, and they are hard to give away. They don't seem to offer the same power at a given voltage as a comparable esc of another brand, but that might be worth a try if you're in a tight budget. I want to say I had to sell my vxl motor AND esc for like $50 to get it gone.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    I actually have an old vxl3s esc. But isn't it meant for a 2 pole motor?

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,352
    yes, the old one is 2 pole only....

  9. #9
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    5,723
    I didn't know the 4 pole vxl esc is no longer sensored.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  10. #10
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by mwe-maxxowner View Post
    I didn't know the 4 pole vxl esc is no longer sensored.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    How do you think a 2 pole esc would like a 4 pole motor? I've heard that it works and I've heard that there is a "rev limiter" of sorts. Has anyone tried this?

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    5,723
    I do think it will run it, but I think it cuts your max rpms in half. Or something like that. Don't quote me on that. It's been a while. For crawling in first gear, it may well be fine.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  12. #12
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by mwe-maxxowner View Post
    I do think it will run it, but I think it cuts your max rpms in half. Or something like that. Don't quote me on that. It's been a while. For crawling in first gear, it may well be fine.

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    I'm not currently home so I don't have access to the vxl esc. I'll try it tomorrow when I'm home and then let you know how it goes.

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. mwe-maxxowner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    pageland, sc(south of monroe)
    Posts
    5,723
    Did you wind up doing any testing? (I still vote you try sensorless and playing with settings. The MMX is pretty smooth with no sensor)

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    460, straightpipes, buried throttle, nuff said :D

  14. #14
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    239
    Quote Originally Posted by mwe-maxxowner View Post
    Did you wind up doing any testing? (I still vote you try sensorless and playing with settings. The MMX is pretty smooth with no sensor)

    Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
    Actually I didn't do any testing. The power button on the vxl esc is stuck down even if I pull it up the inside part is stuck down. I ended up just going back to brushed for now until I can get an esc. I also kept the sidewinder and put it and the motor in my slash two wheel drive for now.

    Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    RC Qualifier JatoTheRipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    773
    Take it back. The SV4 is out.

  16. #16
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    110
    Can I run the SW4 with the stock Traxxas motor? I believe my esc just shorted out.

  17. #17
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    679
    You sure can but i'd go for the Hobbywing 1080 myself. Better for brushed motors and a fraction of the price.

  18. #18
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by Hardcoretam View Post
    You sure can but i'd go for the Hobbywing 1080 myself. Better for brushed motors and a fraction of the price.
    I would but I purchase the SW4 already. I got it for my Slash but ended up going with something else. Which motor would be best pairedwith this ESC for the TRX4?

  19. #19
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    679
    I think one of the Tenshock 6 pole brushless motors should be good for that speed control. They're cheap and unsensored, however because of the 6 pole design they're still really smooth. I wouldn't go less than 1750kv though

  20. #20
    RC Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    110
    Thanks for the information!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •