Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RC Enthusiast

Noob needs help with Slash 4x4 ultimate 3s LiPo issue

I am completely new to the RC hobby and I bought a Slash 4x4 ultimate TSM OBA. At the time of buying I didnít know any better a bought 2 3s LiPo batteries with a charger. Now Iím doing my research and Iím realizing that the Slash probably wonít hold up very well with the stock body/parts and the 3s LiPo. Iím willing to upgrade whatever I need to upgrade in order to make it safe to just have fun with the thing without worrying too much. Ill be doing most of my driving in the country... short grass, gravel, dirt. I want some speed because well donít we all but I definitely wonít be trying to do speed test or racing this thing. Some light bashing if you will. I just need some help with parts I should upgrade. Iíd maybe consider a new motor too Iíve been seeing something about a funny car motor with the VXL 3-s but again I donít know anything here. From my research this is what Iíve come up with please let me know if Iíll need some other upgrade or if thereís something on my list thatís not necessary.

King Headz motor mount
    Tekno driveshaft (dog bone)
    Traxxas Aluminum shock caps
    RRP slipper clutch with a 13pinion/54spur gear
    Integy heatsink dual motor fan
    Traxxas ESC fan
    RPM A arms (front & rear)
    Traxxas aluminum motor plate

Please fix my list or add to it as you see fit for my needs! Any help is appreciated. Thanks ahead of time guys!

Congrats on your purchase and welcome to the Traxxas forums!

Since your Slash is an Ultimate, you do not need aluminum shock caps and the motor plate is already aluminum.

You don't need to change the A-arms. I have always ran stock and have not had any problems. If you already ordered thyem, just run stock till they break.

Since you're running 3S power, just keep an eye on your temps and adjust your gears accordingly... test test test.

Have fun and get to know your rig and how you drive it.