RC poster

School me in lipos

I am new to the RC crowd. Just bought a new revo. I also got two traxxas 3s 5000mah batteries. After reading the instructions, I feel like I'm handling two delicate bombs. The instructions say to charge and store them in fire proof containers (separate from each other) and to charge them away from any flammable materials.

Is it that serious or are they just covering their butts for every possible law suit? Does anyone charge or store them in fire proof containers? Do i need to treat them like grenades without the pin ?

RC Qualifier
    Do some research and they will be pretty safe.

Charge in a lipo bag
    Don't store a charged lipo for more than a day or two.
    Try to run what you charged that day.
    Don't run your lipo lower than 3.7v per cell.
    Don't charge to past 4.2v/cell
    Store your lipos at 3.8v/cell always!
    Have a lipo checker always handy
    Get a real charger that just doesn't show pretty lights...it's very important to know of one cell is bad....I just had a manufacturer replace $200 worth of lipos no charge because I got a bad batch with bad cells.....you'll never know if you have a bad cell if you don't have a lipo checker.
    I have 10 metal tool boxes full of lipos of all sizes.....not enough room to store them all separately.
    Take care of them and they will provide years of faithful service.
    Slash VXL, Stampede VXL, 4tec VXL ,Bandit VXL

RC poster
    Quote Originally Posted by GT Joe View Post
    Do some research and they will be pretty safe.

Charge in a lipo bag
    Don't store a charged lipo for more than a day or two.
    Try to run what you charged that day.
    Don't run your lipo lower than 3.7v per cell.
    Don't charge to past 4.2v/cell
    Store your lipos at 3.8v/cell always!
    Have a lipo checker always handy