RC poster

Question Newbie - motor positioning for gear mesh

This is a complete newbie question and I don't even know what to search for, so feel free to redirect me to an existing thread that answers the question if there is one.

We have a stock Rustler XL-5. It comes with a 16/90 gear set installed at the factory, and a 28/86 optional gear set in the box.

We wanted to try the 28/86 conversion, but the gear pair is too large to mesh at all. The stock setup includes a plastic bracket (3790 - gear adapter, fixed) which locates the motor in a single "fixed" position. Basically, it fills the slotted motor screw hole on the lower side so that you cannot use the range of the slot.

What is the correct way to change to a new gear pair? Do we remove the plastic adapter completely? If so, what locks the motor securely in place to maintain the correct gear mesh - is it done only by the clamping force of the two motor mounting screws?

Any tips and advice welcome. Thanks in advance.

RC Enthusiast
    Yes, it's done by the clamping force of the screws. You're correct. You can dispense with the plastic retainer.

There are loads of threads/videos on setting gear mesh but what works for me is:

Install the gears. Make sure the pinion and spur are lined up with no overlap in terms of how far along their respective shafts they are. Tighten grub screws and add threadlock.