RC poster

Question Noob - Looking for first RC car

So, noob here looking to get into RC cars again. I used to be way back when and technology was way different so I知 learning and researching all over again. I知 looking at picking up a Slash or Rustler (leaning towards the Slash which is why I posted in here). What I知 looking for is something with decent speed, 30-50痴 would be good (70+ is too much for me right now). Also want something durable as I知 sure I値l be banging it and crashing it quite a bit. I知 thinking of skipping on LiPo batteries for now, seems like another level of complexity for this noob. But my hobby shop said go ahead and jump to brushless, the VXL line. They値l offer more speed even with NiMH batteries and gearing, and are more durable in the long run. Also with the TSM it will help as well as I learn how to handle the car. Would this be true?

The other decision would be between 2wd or 4wd. Most of my running would be mixed environments. Pavement, grass, dirt, etc. Looking to do some jumps and stuff, but nothing record breaking, or racing competitive or anything like that. Just a fun toy for a kid at heart that will take most of what I値l throw at it.

Part of me is also looking at the small 1/16 sized (Slash or Revo) partly because of cost. But I知 afraid that due to their size, not as fast, etc., I may get a bit bored with them rather quickly.

So any suggestions from the community would be greatly appreciated.

RC poster
    I bought a Slash 2wd VXL over the summer. Its quick with the 2S Lipo and Its too fast for my street (cul-de-sac) with a 3S Lipo. Depending on the pinion/battery combo it pushes the speed past 50. I bash it hard and has not failed me yet.

RC Qualifier