RC poster

Wink Do you baby it? Absolute beginner question

Bear with me here... I'm completely new to Traxxas, RC cars and off-roading in general (i.e. I know nothing). Long story short, I watched some YouTube videos and went out and bought myself a TRX-4 Defender - as expected, it's a ton of fun. I'm mostly digging the technical rock crawling.

Question is simple: how careful do you have to be with regards to drive train taking hits? Specifically when rock crawling, do you avoid putting yourself in positions where you could easily take a hard rock hit to the drive train components? I feel like there should be skid plate protecting the front differential especially as I've already dinged it a little.

I don't expect it to stay scratch free of course - just want to make it last as long as possible

Cheers

I wouldn't say I baby mine.
    Brushless 13.5t on 3s.
    It is pretty tough out of the box.
    That being said.Hard direct hits will break stuff but scraping and reasonable bumps and bangs should not be a big issue

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
    Mountains cant stop me
    they have tried

RC Racer
    Don't worry too much, generally speaking skid plates just get hung up even more.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

In short, drive it like you rented it!!!

The TRX4 is a very tough truck, with the noted exception of its steering servo. I have put mine through a ton of abuse, and, in most cases, bounces back (or bounces off) with no complaints. But, stuff does break, and that is why we buy hobby-grade RCs.
    Submarine Qualified, Chief Inducted, Navy Retired

RC Racer
    Most times, I drive it way Tom Meentz drives Maximum Destruction. The truck can certainly handle a good bit of regular abuse.
    But when im crawling i tend to drive more like it was a 1:1 daily driver. Definately not into banging off of boulders. Im suspecting the plastics wont hold up to King of the Hammers style rock racing.