RC poster

Question Over Tray without Body

Hi guys, first post here. I'm pretty new to RC and recently got my hands on a Rustler VXL. My question is, can I use an over tray as a body on its own without putting a standard body over it?? I really like the looks of them and was wondering if there are any downsides to using them on their own. Also, I know ESC overheating is a common complaint. I do plan to put screened vents in if I do it. Thanks in advance for any and all responses!

Personally, I have no experience with over trays...but, I can see multiple reasons for not using one as you're considering. First, the body protects the shock towers. The Rustler isn't a buggy, it has a higher CoG, and is more prone to flipping over, including landing on said shock towers. Second, over trays don't attach to the chassis (or shock towers, as the bodies do)...so, unless you have a way of attaching it to the chassis pan, when that vehicle flips, the overtray will probably come flying off, exposing everything to potential damage. There are other, albeit more minor, reasons, but, hopefully, you're starting to get the picture.

~ Coming to you live, from somewhere on planet Earth.
    ~ Love, laughter & kindness makes the world better

RC poster
    I can definitely see why it's probably a bad idea now. I'm pretty motivated to find a way to make it work without overly compromising the integrity of the car, so I'll continue to look into ways to protect the shock towers and properly attach the tray to the body. It's definitely not something I want to use as a primary body though. More of a show piece of sorts.

RC Champion