Question Arctic Silver - HOW MUCH??

Iím putting a heat sink on my new Rustler VXL 4X4. Someone recommend to bond it with arctic silver.

Question: how much shall I use? Do I put a thin coat on the whole thing before mounting it to the motor?

All suggestions welcomed & thanks for your help...

That's a first...and, honestly, I can't say whether I'd recommend it, or recommend avoiding that suggestion. I've been custom-building computers for over 25 years, and Arctic Silver had been one of the best thermal pastes I've used...but, it's designed for attaching to computer CPUs, not RC motors.

~ Coming to you live, from somewhere on planet Earth.
    ~ Love, laughter & kindness makes the world better

RC Racer
    I would look into single side adhesive thermal transfer tape that is popular with electronics builders. If I recall correctly those are typically rated at the minimum around 240f sustained. Then take a temp gun and see if it makes a difference.

Quote Originally Posted by TwoBelugas View Post
    I would look into single side adhesive thermal transfer tape that is popular with electronics builders. If I recall correctly those are typically rated at the minimum around 240f sustained. Then take a temp gun and see if it makes a difference.
    That seems the smarter move, especially compared to using computer thermal paste. Then again, maybe I could take several 4S packs, daisy-chain them, and see if they'll power my Core-i7/GTX1080 gaming computer.

RC Racer
    Quote Originally Posted by Panther6834 View Post
    Then again, maybe I could take several 4S packs, daisy-chain them, and see if they'll power my Core-i7/GTX1080 gaming computer.
    Bonus points if you can McGuiver a pass through charging set up so a charger can kick in when the LiPos need to be charged, cut off the lipos from being drawn from, and use the charger to supply the juice when the battery is charging.