RC poster

Question Throttle/trigger sensitivity

Greetings Got my first rustler yesterday, only drove her once last night and dying to go out right after work today

Super happy and respect to traxxas for going that step further beyond any other brand ive observed as a noob Really seems like the lamborgini of rc cars hah. now to see how much it lasts xD

if i may, only ONE thing im trying to sort, please.

With my previous transmitter/receiver combo on another china rc i am able to slightly pull the throttle trigger a few millimeters at a time and the car will very slowly crawl from stand still. With the rustler and the tqi im noticing the first cm or so of trigger is dead.. then the car suddenly jumps to a slow speed.. i am unable to get that smooth transition from stand still to gradual creeping off.

Is this a matter of settings pls from the tqi? and if so which pls? Or is it due to the different transmitter and/or receiver?

im new to this hobby and this is my second car after a cheaper china one (zd-racing thunder) which i used to learn on (and worked a lot on in the 5 months or so its been at me).. so excuse the noobness x

Thank you and good day!

aLaN

RC Qualifier
    Welcome to the Traxxas family!

Since you have the TQi transmitter, you probably have the brushless VXL version. Sensorless brushless motor/ESC combos have something called cogging at startup. The ESC need to know the position of the rotor in order to send power to the correct phase. With sensorless system this is a "trial and error" at startup, so to speak. This leads to studder and a not very smooth startup.
    Your China vehicle probably has a brushed motor which is a lot smoother at startup. To avoid the cogging effect with a brushless system you'll need a sensored system.

RC Competitor
    Quote Originally Posted by Viking View Post
    To avoid the cogging effect with a brushless system you'll need a sensored system.
    Does Traxxas offer a sensor-ed motor and ESC?

RC poster