RC Competitor

Can someone school me in foams?

Hello

I've been doing RC stuff for over 15 years now, but my first on-road (4-tec 2.0) vehicle will be arriving today. I plan on dropping a spare VXL system I have lying around into it first thing.

I'm not at all familiar with foams (outside of in the context for crawling) in any capacity. Are they preferred over rubber tires? Where's a good place to search for/buy them? How do some foams differ from others? Basically any info to help a car noob out would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Not a ton of help but... I have a GT with the VXL system. I bought it used and it came with Contact foams as well as the stock tires. I geared it up with the speed gears and threw a 3s pack in it. It flat out flies and handles great with the foams. Tried the stock stuff for giggles....almost undriveable.
    Slash 4x4 Ult 2150kv
    Rustler vxl
    Ford GT vxl

RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Contact foams are fine, cheap, and decent. They get torn up quick, so depending on your driving habits will determine your tire budget. Same philosophy of standard tires apply, harder will last longer and grab less, softer will hook up better and wear quicker.

Somehow builds are never done....

RC Qualifier
    I just got a set of 26 and 30mm BSR foams, haven't used them yet. I'll report back. The car is hard to drive on 2S with the stock tires and un-drivable on 3S. Hoping the foams cure that.

RC Competitor
    Quote Originally Posted by Gripdog7205 View Post
    Contact foams are fine, cheap, and decent. They get torn up quick, so depending on your driving habits will determine your tire budget. Same philosophy of standard tires apply, harder will last longer and grab less, softer will hook up better and wear quicker.

I threw my VXL in it last night along with the included taller pinion and took it to a nearby, freshly paved parking lot with a fresh 3S pack. Even with the stock tires, that thing freaking screamed.