Stampede 4x4 For Child

I bought my nephew a 2WD, brushed Slash for his 6th birthday. He loves it and it's been durable like expected. He does get frustrated on low traction surfaces and snow. He told me that he would like a monster truck RC when I pressed him on what he wanted for Christmas.

So, being the awesome uncle , I am looking into the Slash 4x4 brushed or the competition which has the name of a material you'd use to make a countertop. The competition is considerably cheaper. Parts support shouldn't be an issue because my LHS stocks both brands.

I have no experience with the Stampede 4x4 or any of the competition so I have a few questions.

1. How durable is the Slash 4x4 going to be for a beginner?
    2. Are there any problem areas on this truck that need upgrades?
    3. Are there any differences between the brushed and VXL Stampede 4x4 besides the electronics?
    4. The Stampede 4x4 appears to sit higher than the competition so I'm worried about it rolling over too often.

I appreciate any feedback. Thank you!

RC Qualifier

Stampede 4x4 For Child

The Stampede 4x4 vxl is ridiculously durable. Cartwheels and rollovers at high speed and no breakage. My Stampede is going on 3 years old and is in an upgrade transition at the moment.
    The only weakness and it took 2 years to break something is when long grass etc gets twisted around the half shafts and breaks them. I have been more daring this last year and broke 3 sets ad went to MIP and Tekno drives shafts up front.
    It’s fast, its a monster and it hauls butt through the grass. We got my nephew a 2wd at 5 years old and hopefully he doesn’t get frustrated.

Stick with 2s and breakage should be rare.
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by cooleocool; 11-13-2019 at 06:10 PM. Reason: Language abuse.

RC Qualifier
    I should say all the breakage has been at the yolks. I am on my 3rd spur gear, but like I said this thing takes abuse.

RC Qualifier