RC poster

Traxxas rally or tamiya xv 01 and some general upgrade ??s

I used to build and play with (mostly) tamiya RC s when I was a kid (astute, blackfoot, clod, rc-10) now 30 years later my 7year old got a cheap rc for christmas and thought about buying a hobby grade car for myself and I'd let the boy use it to a little. I am inclined to get the traxxas fiesta rally car . But I'm also intrigued with tamiya s front engine chassis xv01 . Any thoughts? Pros and cons?

The traxxas would be a little cheaper since I am starting from scratch I dont have any radios, batteries , chargers etc. And it looks like the fiesta rally is nearly identical to slash 4 x4 so there are plenty of upgrades out there

And I guess that's my next question . Is there an aluminum lcg chassis to be had that will work on the rally fiesta? And if I wanted to put the Ford raptor shell on the traxxas rally would I only need new body posts?

Thanks for your help. I'm not a complete newbie... but I'm 30 years rusty .

Oh and one last question... all of the aluminum billet machined upgrades... they look really nice but are a little spendy . I was thinking the drive train components and chassis would be worth it perhaps but what is the consensus regarding the value these components add? To me it seems like a cosmetic vanity thing but correct me if I am wrong please

RC Champion