Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 4wd to 2wd

  1. #1
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    60

    4wd to 2wd

    If I disconnect the front driveshaft on my 4x4 will it break things?

  2. #2
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    879
    No it won't break anything. Take out your front drive shafts and the Center drive shaft and take it for a spin to see how you like it

    Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    RC Qualifier
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    879
    Just keep an eye on your motor Temps as this will push your motor a little harder. If your motor gets too hot, gear down a couple of teeth on the pinion

    Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    RC Qualifier Panther6834's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    864
    Also, in switching from 4WD to 2WD, you might want to consider "lightening up" your front end, by removing the front diff & bearings from the front diff housing. You could try it with, and workout, the front diff in place, to see how differently (no pun intended) it handles. Just remember to reinstall the diff housing, or you'll quickly discover your front shock tower has nothing to attach to.

    ~ More peace, love, laughter & kindness would make the world a MUCH better place
    ~ Love, laughter & kindness makes the world better

  5. #5
    RC Competitor
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    60
    Thanks for the info

  6. #6
    RC Turnbuckle Jr. El Sob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    14,321
    The front wheels will work if you disconnect the axle from the rest of the CV axle. You don't have to remove the tire to do it. Just separate the axle at the joint and remove the rest of the CV axles with the differential.
    Member of the 10,000 + posts club! Here to help!

  7. #7
    RC Turnbuckle Jr.
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    9,411
    eh, running it in 2wd is going to make it handle like crap..... if you want a 2wd slash, get a 2wd slash.... I have a 2wd slash, and a 4wd slash, and have run the 4wd as a 2wd and it sucked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •