Newbie in need of advice

So obviously I'm in the market of a traxxas vehicle (because why not).
    I'm new to all of this, but I'm mechanically sound when it comes to real vehicles. Only reason I say that is because durability is a key feature I desire. I will most likely be using it at my Lakehouse which consists of mainly grass, some sand a rarely the road, so mainly off-road. I would also like decent speed. As stated, I've never owned anything like this so they'll all seem decently fast, but I would like 30 mph+. Not exactly sure if I'll need 4WD considering I don't have many opportunities of becoming stuck anywhere, and we don't have drastic hills (maybe a few steep ones I would jump). So I am asking for experienced advice on the best suited RC for me.
    ;)

I highly recommend the 2WD Ruslter VXL. Itís very easy to work on/modify, tons of fun...

I also recommend a nice set of MIP hex drivers. Those you only buy once.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by albrechtmyers View Post
    So obviously I'm in the market of a traxxas vehicle (because why not).
    I'm new to all of this, but I'm mechanically sound when it comes to real vehicles. Only reason I say that is because durability is a key feature I desire. I will most likely be using it at my Lakehouse which consists of mainly grass, some sand a rarely the road, so mainly off-road. I would also like decent speed. As stated, I've never owned anything like this so they'll all seem decently fast, but I would like 30 mph+. Not exactly sure if I'll need 4WD considering I don't have many opportunities of becoming stuck anywhere, and we don't have drastic hills (maybe a few steep ones I would jump). So I am asking for experienced advice on the best suited RC for me.
    Bandit VXL, rustler VXL, slash 2wd, stampede VXL for 2wd are what Iíd recommend, and for 4x4, rustler 4x4 VXL, slash 4x4 VXL or stampede 4x4 VXL. The slash is very popular so would be my pick out of the lot.

RC Qualifier