RC Racer

New to Lipo, please help!

I am pretty new to traxxas forums, and I just ordered a couple 5200 mah, 80 c lipos and I have a couple questions. I have never run lipos before, and they haven't come yet. Here are my questions:

I watched a youtube video and it said that I need to have the battery charging in "storage mode". I don't think my onyx 235 charger can do this. Do they have to be in storage mode?

When I get the battery can I charge them right away, or do I have to discharge them first? I ordered a balancing board for my charger.

I also ordered a fireproof storage box/bag thing from amazon. Will this actually be safer? Any advice?

Will the lipos hold the charge the first charge, or will it take a couple charges?

Any help is appreciated. Sorry if these questions have already been answered. Any other lipo tips are awesome, I'm a lipo noob. I already know I will also need to make sure that low voltage detection is on, on my vxl 3s. These are the questions I have right now, might have more later. I'm exited for a little lipo power!

RC Racer
    Any advice from my fellow RC lovers would be amazing!!!

1. "Storage mode" is the battery being stored at 3.8v/cell. You should have a charger that will charge lipos and anytime you are putting them away you'll need to chose "Storage" on your charger and wait until they are done. The lipos should already come around 3.8v/cell which is storage charge.
    2. No, you don't need to discharge and then recharge. You can recharge (always chose "balance" charge) from the storage voltage to full charge of 4.2v/cell.
    3. Any videos you see with lipo batteries going into thermal runaway usually have sustained damage. Balance charge, store at storage voltage, set your ESC to lipo battery and if you can set cut-off at 3.5v/cell (you cannot change Traxxas ESC's and their cut-off is around 3.3 or 3.2v) do so and stop running when you see a significant drop in performance.
    The Super Derecho

RC Racer